Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-26-2017, 06:40 AM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Question Tips and techniques for driving while pulling a toad?

I am a new inexperienced motorhome driver. I have driven my new Winnebago Sunstar 29VE a total of 2000 miles over 2 trips. I pretty much drive it like a car with a few exceptions when it comes to turning, etc. I am aware that I probably should be downshifting at certain times and possible using the tow/haul mode, but I need some guidance about when and how to do it. I purchased a tow dolly and have only pulled it once with my pickup for practice and I have never had it hooked to the MH. Is there a source for learning how to properly drive with a toad? Like maybe a "Driving a Motorhome Pulling a Toad for Dummies" book. I have found several MH driving tips videos on youtube that have been very helpful, but none that explain downshifting and tow/haul mode. I have tried to find sources but have had limited success. Also, some tips from the experts here on iRV2 would be great as well.

Thanks,

Larry
LarryJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!