Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 08-05-2011, 11:39 AM   #1

Tire Lock Up Incident

I am new to four down towing. I have a 2011 Honda CR-V FWD equipped with the Even-Brake system and Roadmaster Sterling AT tow bar and base plate.

Last week, after driving about 5 level miles with little or no braking, I started down a small grade at about 45-50 mph, and gently stepped on the brakes to bleed off a little speed. I felt a tug, heard tire screeching, and saw tire smoke coming from the Honda. After stopping and pulling over to the side of the road, I determined that the Honda's right front tire had locked up (it left a skid mark on the pavement about 100 feet long). An inspection of the Even-Brake did not show any problem (was sitting in the proper position on the floor, green light on, etc.).

I continued on and had no further problem for the next 300 miles. I had to replace the tire on the Honda due to the flat spot.

Has anyone run into any experience like that?

Does anyone have any theories as to the cause of the lock-up?

Shouldn't the Honda's anti-lock brake system prevented that? Or does the anti-lock brake system not work in the Accessory I position?

Not knowing what caused the lock-up, I am scared to death it will happen again.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!