Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 12-05-2015, 09:12 PM   #1

Smile Toad Hitch Suggestions for 8" Rise and Bike Rack

I want to run my toad (a 1996 Jeep Cherokee with lift, 3300#) as well as a blue ox tow bar and a yakima bike rack (2 bikes).

The hitch height of the RV is at 19.5" and the toad hookup point is at 27".

I plan on running a dual hitch connected to the rv and having the bike rack in the upper hitch and the tow bar in the lower hitch (via a 8" rise hitch). Is this the correct thing to do since I'm a newbie and any suggestions to other better setups? Better products etc?

Also, not sure as I will have to measure but may need a 2" extender to clear the bike rack for the riser... Not sure if anyone has a similar setup that can help. I do not want to run the bike rack on the toad since I want to avoid unloading the rack when unhooked up.

Thank you all

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-06-2015, 09:43 AM   #2

Anyone? I was planning on the following:

MaxxTow Dual Hitch Extender for 2" Trailer Hitches - 12" Long MaxxTow Hitch Accessories MT70070

and the

yakima: