Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-14-2016, 08:46 AM   #1

Toad Lighting at Night

Newbie here. Have a Blue Ox Alpha tow bar set up. Have only towed the car during daylight so far. Do I need to turn on the lights on the toad when towing at night or will the toad lights turn on if I turn on the motorhome lights? How does this work? Thanks!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-14-2016, 08:53 AM   #2

If properly wired, the "maker lights" on the coach will also power up the corresponding lights on the toad. We always do a complete check on the lights when hooking up the toad before leaving: turn signals, 4-way flashers, brakes, and marker lights should all work on the toad when activated from the coach.

jrusselltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 08:54 AM   #3

Easiest way to find out , is to turn on the lights on the coach with the toad hooked up ( park , signal and brake lights ) and do a walk around .

JMHO: This should be done every time you hook up the wiring, to the toad.

EDIT: and I see Jim posted the same info while I was typing. Boy I type slow.
Old 06-14-2016, 09:35 AM   #4