Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 12-29-2015, 10:15 AM   #1
mre

Toad Maintenance

While I am not new to RVing, I am new to Motorhoming. We should be getting our new motorhome and toad sometime in February.
I have a couple of questions about toad service.
One question I have is toad tire rotation. Normal tire rotations usually call for rotation somewhere between 6k-7.5k – basically when I have the oil changed. That is pretty much what I have done with all my vehicles over the years. My understanding is that tire rotation is done to keep relatively even tire wear on all tires. As I understand it, steering, drive wheels, turning, and weight on the tires wears them differently.
It would seem to me that if one is towing a toad, wear on all four wheels should be about the same since none of the wheels are propelling the vehicle, turning is reduced to a minimum, and maneuvering while towing is very different than driving it. Weight would be the only exception
Do towing miles wear tires less that driving miles on a toad? If so, can one decrease the tire rotation interval?

Fluid changed in drive train components. When towing a toad, it seem to me that the fluids are not “working” as hard and not heating up as much. Can this be factored in to fluid change intervals?
What do you guys do?
Anything else I should consider?

Thanks
ed

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!