Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-25-2014, 08:10 AM   #1

Toad, Tow dolly, Car trailer, or enclosed?

Hi All,

My first post on IRV2, and I'm a brand newbie to RVing.

I'm in the process of shopping/ buying both a car and a RV at the moment. A friend told me the Honda CRV is one of the few vehicles that will allow use in "Toad" mode (tow-haul?). Whereas other cars will have to be modded or put on a dolly. I like the CRV and I like the idea of not having to deal with a dolly, car trailer, or enclosed. However, the latter two bring in benefits to the equation as well (less wear-and-tear on our car if it's sitting on a trailer). If end up with a DP I suppose we could tow a large enclosed car trailer and maybe a couple of toys like a dirt bike or ATV.

But my main concern here is ease-of-use and dealing with the campgrounds. Are the various campgrounds trailer-friendly? Are they going to nickel-and-dime me for carrying a trailer (paying extra parking fees)? I have read that some charge, some don't.

My secondary concern is weight. If we end up getting a gas-powered RV (say V10 or 460 with a Banks pack), will it pull a car-trailer in the hills or through the mountains? So is the benefit of keeping the car on a trailer offset by the added weight of the trailer? And will a V-10 37' gasser Class A pull a car trailer or enclosed trailer? Can it be done safely? (not exceeding vehicle limits)