Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 11-19-2013, 09:22 PM   #1

Toad towing in ice and snow

We have an Itasca Meridian 34B and will be heading South from Northern Illinois in January. I've had some experience with our 5th wheel in ice and snow- I should add: terrifying experience.

I would like to hear from members who have driven their MH's, with toad, in ice and snow. Especially any driving cautions and hints.

Thank you for any help you can offer.
CBT

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-20-2013, 09:16 AM   #2

When you are towing a toad behind the MH if either start to swerve the momentum of the toad will be like a 4,500 lb pendulum. This kind of weight would be hard to control. If you have a way to break the toad independent of the MH that would help. I have never towed our toad in ice or snow this is just my opinion.

Old 11-20-2013, 06:38 PM   #3

Workhorse Chassis Owner