Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 03-07-2014, 03:39 PM   #1

Tow bar installation

We plan to tow our 2013 Honda Fit (approx. 2,000 lbs) to the 9,000 ft level of the CO Rockies from NH this year with our 26' Class C. We don't yet have the tow bar installed. Camping World is running a "sale" on Roadmaster tow bar packages which include the bar, brackets, "accessory kit" of undetermined contents, Guardian tow shield and Invisibrake, all installed for approx. $3130. The tow bar guy at the local CW wasn't in today so I'm coming to you with my questions. I understand that, in addition to the bar and the brake system, I'll have to have brake lights installed on the toad. Could that be part of the "accessory kit"? If not, how much can I expect to be charged for that? Since I'm not a mechanically handy guy, I plan to have a local RV guy install the equipment, not CW, as I expect he'll be a few hundred dollars less expensive though that remains to be seen. So my questions are: Is Roadmaster a good product: is there a failure history of Roadmaster tow bars and, if so, which ones; Is $3130 approx. the right amount for such an installation? Is there something else that should also be installed that doesn't come in the package? Is there a better/more effective system than Invisibrake and/or Roadmaster? Thanks for the advice. BG

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!