Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-26-2013, 08:26 PM   #1

Tow/haul button

Sorry for sounding dumb but I am new to motor homes and towing. I am thinking of towing my 05 Chevy Colorado 4x4 behind my 32 ft Class C. The MH has the Ford V10 and Allison transmission. My question is should I use the tow/haul mode that is activated with a button on the gear shifter? I know the tow mode will reduce fuel mileage but I would rather save my transmission if it is best.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-26-2013, 09:01 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

The tow/haul button has nothing to do with being towed - your transmission is in neutral then and the button has no effect. Tow/haul mode is used when you are towing something with the truck or hauling an extra heavy load in the truck.

Edit: Duh! I think I missed the point of this question. The OP is asking whether to use tow/haul on the motorhome tranny, not the toad. Sorry...

Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:08 PM   #3

Winnebago Owners Club