Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 01-18-2016, 09:26 AM   #1

Question Towed Brakes??

I'm new to dolly towing and this may have been answered before but I haven't found it.
I'll be towing our 2007 Highlander on a Kar-Kaddy 3 dolly that has surge brakes and lights.
I know I have to have lights for the back of the car in addition to the lights on the dolly but am not sure of the brakes requirements.
Will I have to add a brake system to the car so the rear wheels will have brakes or are the dolly surge brakes sufficient?
In Florida and several other states a trailer weighing over 3000# requires brakes on all wheels but I don't know if the car on a dolly is considered a trailer.
I expect the ultra conservative answer is brakes on every rolling wheel but am interested in what the actual statutes require.
Thanks for any help.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2016, 09:34 AM   #2

Triple E Owners Club
You don't need brakes on the towed vehicle when on a dolly. Just the dolly.

Dave

Old 01-18-2016, 04:19 PM   #3

Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner