Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2010, 06:35 PM   #1
Member
 
howie-2005's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl
Posts: 70
Towing a 07 Saturn Vue

The book says pull the accessory fuse, former owner said never pulled anything because he didn't want to keep re-programing the radio. Anyone towing a vue?
__________________

__________________
Claire & Marty
2008 Winnebago Adventurer, 2007 Saturn Vue.
English Bullies, Roxie 2yrs & Mikey-6ys
howie-2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2010, 08:50 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
gripper's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 772
I pull an '08 Saturn Vue and pull the fuse each time. The purpose is to prevent draining the battery and prevent the speedo, from adding mileage, because it is electric. I have never had a problem, with the radio.

Roland
__________________

__________________
Roland & Jerri, with Maggie & Mollie, our Pups; '05 Fleetwood Providence, 39' DP; '08 Saturn. "The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has it's limits" (Einstein)
gripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 09:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
alan1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: little rock, ar
Posts: 250
I pull an 07 vue hybrid. I run a hot wire through the umbilical cord to keep a charge in the battery and don't pull the fuse. If you don't run a charge wire and forget to pull the fuse, your battery will be dead at the end of the day. However, miles don't accrue, the fuse turns off things like the little lights on the power window controls.
__________________
2016 Newmar King Aire 4553
2017 Ford Explorer toad
alan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 11:22 AM   #4
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,188
I pull an '07 Vue. I pull the fuse and I have never had a problem with loosing the radio programming. Maybe he was pulling a different fuse. The correct one is under the hood. It is the second one back on the right as you are looking at it. It is green and it is 30 amp.

Be sure to keep a spare or two in the glove box. Those little suckers can be slick and tricky. When they fall down they never go all the way to the ground. (Go ahead, ask me how I know.) Since I have had spares I have never dropped another one. Isn't that the way it is supposed to work?

p.s., I have seen one Vue owner put a toggle switch on the inside of the dash to interrupt power to the fuse instead of having to pull it.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
RVM14
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:56 PM   #5
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
I have an '06 Vue, which is the same as the '07. I replaced the fuse with an in-line fuse and switch so flipping the switch is the same as pulling the fuse. The radio maintains its memory.

Once I forgot to turn the switch off. The battery (which was older) was dead when we got to our destination.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 05:38 AM   #6
Member
 
howie-2005's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl
Posts: 70
Thanks for the replys..... I guess I'll pull the fuse. Sounds easier.
__________________
Claire & Marty
2008 Winnebago Adventurer, 2007 Saturn Vue.
English Bullies, Roxie 2yrs & Mikey-6ys
howie-2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 03:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Dragonrover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 96
I know when towing a Saturn Vue, it is suggested to pull the ignition switch fuse every time.
__________________
2007 Tiffin Motorhomes ALLEGRO 35MH
Dragonrover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:17 PM   #8
Member
 
DCGarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by paz View Post
I have an '06 Vue, which is the same as the '07. I replaced the fuse with an in-line fuse and switch so flipping the switch is the same as pulling the fuse. The radio maintains its memory.

Once I forgot to turn the switch off. The battery (which was older) was dead when we got to our destination.
Hi, just how did you replace the original ATO (?) fuse with an inline fuse and switch? This sounds like a very good solution and I would like to do this also. Are there adapters that can be plugged into the fuse box that make this simple?

Thank you,
Dan

Toad 2005 Vue
__________________
DCGarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 07:08 AM   #9
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCGarcia View Post
Hi, just how did you replace the original ATO (?) fuse with an inline fuse and switch? This sounds like a very good solution and I would like to do this also. Are there adapters that can be plugged into the fuse box that make this simple?

Thank you,
Dan

Toad 2005 Vue
There is a thread on this forum called "Fuse Switch" that discusses commercially-available switches, and there a couple of links to sources.

I made my own with components available at Walmart and/or an auto parts store. Just make sure the wire, fuse holder and fuse you add is rated to carry enough current for the fuse you are replacing. I used standard male spade plugs to plug into the fuse holder where the legs of the fuse went. Protect the wire with a rubber grommet where it runs through the metal of the firewall. I poked a hole in a larger, existing rubber grommet. Also make sure the in-line fuse you add is on the hot side of the fuse holder. Otherwise, the switch won't be protected from shorts when it's off.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:00 AM   #10
Member
 
DCGarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 44
OK, thanks for the information. One last question. I have not been pulling the fuse and of course the battery dies. I am wondering if the battery will stay charged with the fuse pulled, but using the Vue battery to power my Brake Buddy? Anybody have any experience with this. Maybe pulling the fuse and using a charger?
Again thanks,
Dan
__________________
DCGarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:37 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
62Morgan's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 271
The Brake Buddy use is very sparse & only for a few seconds each time it needs to cycle. Have driven 8 hour days with no noticeable drain of Toad's battery. In my case 4-door Saturn SL.[8 years and going]; BTW, leaving all fuses intact.
__________________
62Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 03:49 PM   #12
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCGarcia View Post
OK, thanks for the information. One last question. I have not been pulling the fuse and of course the battery dies. I am wondering if the battery will stay charged with the fuse pulled, but using the Vue battery to power my Brake Buddy? Anybody have any experience with this. Maybe pulling the fuse and using a charger?
Again thanks,
Dan
I use a Brake Pro (similar to Brake Buddy), and the battery in the Vue never goes dead while towing unless I forget to flip the switch that I installed so I don't have to pull the fuse.

As 62Morgan says, the motor on the Brake Buddy only runs intermittently. I even have my Brake Pro set to activate only with hard braking of the motorhome, which means I may slow or stop dozens of times and the toad brakes may only be activated once or twice.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 08:46 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
PORCHDOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 120
If you choose to pull the fuse, you will find it a little dificult to get a good grip on. I put a wire tie on the fuse and I have a good handle to grasp. You can also put a length of electrical tape around the fuse and leave tabs that you can tug on to remove the fuse. It also makes it harder to lose. I made a switch for my Vue but pull the fuse in my Outlook. I pull both (at different times of course).
__________________
PORCHDOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:28 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
RetiredBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by paz View Post

I made my own with components available at Walmart and/or an auto parts store. Just make sure the wire, fuse holder and fuse you add is rated to carry enough current for the fuse you are replacing. I used standard male spade plugs to plug into the fuse holder where the legs of the fuse went. Protect the wire with a rubber grommet where it runs through the metal of the firewall. I poked a hole in a larger, existing rubber grommet. Also make sure the in-line fuse you add is on the hot side of the fuse holder. Otherwise, the switch won't be protected from shorts when it's off.
Paz, the fuse in my '07 Vue is a 30amp maxi-fuse. The only holder I could find was at NAPA and it had 6 guage wires attached--couldn't find spade connectors that would fit #6. Did you find a fuse holder with smaller wires (e.g., #10)?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
2011 Newmar Canyon Star 3411; Workhorse W22; 8.1L; Allison 6-speed
2013 Honda CRV
Portage, MI
RetiredBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturn VUE towing BULLETIN just issued edgray Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 17 02-17-2014 10:44 PM
Conflicting towing info for 04 Saturn Vue AWD bdawson11 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 08-13-2013 11:55 AM
Saturn Vue AWD towing procedure (2006) GG1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 8 08-10-2006 07:42 PM
To Saturn Vue Owners, a question of towing speed. AKBrick Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 26 06-19-2006 10:50 PM
2006 saturn VUE towing question Newmar 14 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 01-23-2006 01:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.