Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-16-2016, 03:04 AM   #1

Towing enclosed trailer full-time behind DP, anyone?

Hello everyone. I did a short intro in that subforum. Just picked up a 300hp restored GMC with a fresh factory rebuild in engine and trans. I plan to add a large trans cooler and temp gauge.

The trailer I'm having built out is 32 ft, front 15 ft enclosed with an observation deck, and rear 15 ft open with ramps at the back for the car. The back 15 ft will serve to transport the car but more importantly as an extension of sq ft from my 15 ft front part enclosed "office".

I have some experience towing but not in a 40 footer, and not totalling 70+ feet. Does this sound feasible? Sound safe?
Aside from tongue weight, and making sure I'm under tow weight, does this sound like a disaster to tow?

The price for the trailer is half the cost of my other option, something similar to this but has to be majorly modded for car transport (to the tune of 55000USD, something difficult for a start up). http://mogreatdane.com/trailers/customized-trailers/mobile-marketing-trailers/32-ft-concession-stage-trailer/

I searched 20 pages back in this subforum and didn't find much on full time enclosed towing or larger style DP trailer set ups.

Thanks all.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!