Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 08-07-2013, 07:48 PM   #1

Using a tow dolly with brakes...

Hi, new to the forum, and a Class 'A' RV... Could use a little advice... We just purchased a new RV with a tow dolly for the car. It comes with brakes, but the dealership didn't set them up. The salesman indicated that with the size of our car (3200 lbs) we really didn't need the dolly braking system... I'm a careful person, and this seemed a bit cavalier to me, but i'm new to all of this and thought maybe I could get some feedback on what others have done... Thanks...

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-07-2013, 07:56 PM   #2

Anytime you have the option for more braking power do so. It may just save you. However im guessing that brakes would be to be set up light as they may easily lock up.

Old 08-07-2013, 07:56 PM   #3

First read this:
The Physics of Towed-Vehicle Braking

Then tell us the make/model of the RV, tow dolly and car.

I think you will get one over-whelming response.... You NEED brakes.