RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 03-10-2018, 10:42 PM   #1

Wallowing Steering?

I am new to towing another vehicle with my Motorhome which is a older diesel pusher that has low miles and excellent condition. But I find that the steering tends to ďwallowĒ about just a little. Itís much the same as my VW vanagon in a crosswind. So is this normal? Nothing appears to be worn on the front end including all the steering components. I would appreciate the benefit of your experience.

Bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-11-2018, 12:05 AM   #2

That should not be normal.
You might want to expand on the specifics of the coach and what you are towing.. 4 wheels down, or. Does it just wallow when towing and is fine otherwise... if so, please tell us whats being towed and how you are towing it. Is there a tongue weight issue?

Tire pressure correct?
Alignment been checked?
Overweight on one side or corner?