Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-29-2009, 04:15 PM   #1

Workhorse Chassis Owner
Weight calculations for Towing Trailer

I am a newbie to RV life

I purchased a 2004 LX 8321 Seabreeze and I want to trailer my car although I know that 4 down may be better I need to take my car with me which can not be towed or use a Dolly.

I am concerned about weights and need advice.

MY RV is GCWR 26000 pounds
GVWR 22000 pounds

unloaded weight 18100 pounds
Max cargo capacity 3900 pounds
Cargo capacity 2564 pounds
Hitch capacity 5000 pounds class III GM Vortec 8.1 engine Allison 100 transmission

Am I correct to under stand that the 4000 pound difference between GCWR and GVWR is the weight assumptions they us for towing but I can go as high as 5000 based on the hitch capacity? I then assume that my cargo capacity would be reduced by 1000 pounds to 1564?

Is 1564 pounds an adequate capacity for two adults? I have not even started to load up. Still looking for a trailer. My car weighs 3400 pounds leaving 1600 for the trailer. Most open deck tandem trailer's are 1600 pounds unless I find a lighter aluminum one. Am I risking anything by exceeding the 5000 pounds by a couple hundred pounds? Has anyone a understanding of performance issues?

Thank you for your opinions.

Sam

Samflhomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!