Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Toads and Motorhome Related Towing
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 04-13-2016, 08:33 PM   #1

Wiring a toad on a dolly

I'm new to towing a car and I have a couple of very basic questions.

If your dolly has lights on it are you required to also have you toad's lights wired?

If the answer is yes, how do most people hook up the toad wiring, since the dolly is using the MH trailer socket already? Do they just splice into the dolly wiring and provide another connector to use for the toad? That feels kind of low rent.

Charlie

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-13-2016, 08:37 PM   #2

Newmar Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Working dolly lights all tat is needed.

Tetonchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 08:53 PM   #3

Ford Super Duty Owner
I installed separate dual function bulb sockets in the tail light units of my towed and wired them to the front of the car using a trailer wiring harness, I spliced a four polar plug into my tow dolly harness. When I load the car I strap it down and plug in the car lights, I have stop, turn and tail lights.
Mrfix
Old 04-13-2016, 10:35 PM   #4