Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2016, 07:21 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
olustee bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Olustee, Fl
Posts: 383
110 to rv

I am getting a 2006 gulf stream conquest and I do not have time to run a 30 amp line out to it. I can run a 110 volt extension cord to it. Will that power my outlets by chance. I want to put a fan inside until I can get a cover
__________________

__________________
olustee bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2016, 07:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
trimacon's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Posts: 301
Yes you can get an adaptor to plug an extension cord into the 30amp cord. 110 will provide enough juice to run a a few things, just need to be selective about how much a load you pull at once.
__________________

__________________
Safe travels, Tom & Jen, Middle GA
2009 Coachmen Sportscoach Legend TG500 45'
2016 Jeep Rubicon Toad, Blue Ox Avail & Invisibrake
trimacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 07:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,939
short answer - yes

This is a fairly common practice for a lot of people.

The longer answer is that this is a fairly common practice for a lot of people. You can draw whatever power the outlet can provide. I used to use a shared outlet in the garage. Now use a dedicated outlet set for 20 A. Either setup let us keep the batteries up while starting the refer a day or two before a trip. New setup will let me run the A/C if the batteries are up. ;-)
__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 07:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
J Birder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 1,194
That should work fine, so long as you don't try to uses more than about 8 to 10 amps. Be aware that if your batteries are low, the converter may be drawing 5 or 6 amps.

Joel
__________________
Retired electronics engineer. Avid paddler & birder.
2011 Silverado 2500HD, diesel, 4x4,crew cab, 8' bed
Palomino Puma 253FBS (27' 5er) & '94 19' Class B
J Birder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 07:37 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
olustee bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Olustee, Fl
Posts: 383
Thanks to all, I will just run, one or maybe two fans. I want to avoid mildew in the florida location. Any other suggestions.
__________________
olustee bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 03:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,939
From what I have heard of Florida humidity you might want to run one A/C just to keep the humidity down at times. Keep the refrigerator door open or load it with a desiccant.
__________________

__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost satellite 110 on Dish Jcous Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 01-28-2009 09:07 PM
110 A/C Power Loss in Winnebago Journey jvz MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 01-04-2009 01:40 AM
MH shore power: 110 or 220??? tnsharon07 Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 12-28-2008 01:42 PM
Plugging into 110 with coach batteries removed Nonno Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 12-31-2006 12:10 PM
lost satellite 110 on Dish Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.