Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-05-2011, 08:56 PM   #1

1994 Fleetwood Jamboree Searcher 28 info

Hi to all!
Just signed up on iRV2. I'm new to RVing. As a matter of fact my sole experience with an RV has been with a VW Westfalia (T4) in Germany. I have fond memories of that trip!
I've been a sailor for a while and decided to trade machines. I came across this not so nice 1994 Jamboree 28 on a E350 chassis powered by a Ford V8 460. There is a number of issues I need to get resolved, starting with some roof leaks. Apparently somebody has done a very poor repair using one of the rubber paints in the market. The problem is, that is has bubbled up. I guess they did not wait long enough for moisture to dry out or simply did not prep the surface properly. In any case this has to be done again. I already bought new vents, including the one for the fridge. These are all dry rotted and falling apart.
Well...my question is the following: What is a good source for parts and accessories for the RV. I don't mean mechanical parts, but mostly body parts like trims, hatches, screens, blinds, etc.
The electrical needs some attention but does not concern me too much, as I have good experience on boats (electrical and electronics on boats is what I do for a living) and systems are very similar.
I'd also like to know if using 10 ply tires instead of the 12 ply would be OK. The vehicle had a nice variety in different calamity stages so I need to replace all 6 tires (ouch!).