Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2013, 03:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
1997 Ford E450 need switched 12V under hood

I'm wiring up my rearview camera and need to tap 12V under hood. Looking for switched 12V or a signal I can wire up a relay fuse board to.

Seems like the driver side fuse box should have a signal to tap but can't figure out how to open backside of that fuse bnox. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Chandler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-02-2013, 09:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Murf2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,842
If all you need is a light duty switched source you can just hook in tandem with a fuse, or buy a "tapping fuse", it looks like a normal fuse but has a short lead with a female spade connector on it.

The easier way though is to use a thin narrow male spade terminal and slip it into the socket along with one leg of the fuse.
__________________

__________________
Ted 'n' Laurie, plus Jackson (aka Deputy Dog, the Parson Russell Terrier 'fur kid') and, Rylie (who crossed the Rainbow Bridge June 14, 2012).
Murf2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 01:11 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
Got this solved today. Right in front of the engine fuse box was a 3 fuse add in. Was checking it and it only had one used spot and the fuse removed. Output went to a relay. I connected the fuse up and got a buzzer in my cab and no other indication. Assuming this was an RV add in for a warning of some sort. Maybe slide not home sensor or something simular.

I pulled the output from the relay and plugged my backup camera. Already fused for me.

Still curious what this is but simple to pop the spade off and plug my load to the relay output. In the 5 years I've owned this class C this alarm has never been functional so I think I'm safe.
__________________
Chandler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ford



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.