Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-06-2015, 09:00 AM   #1

Bottoming Out: Driveway transition ramp?

Newbie here, so please be gentle...

We need to start parking our motorhome (Winnebago View 24J) in our long driveway next to our house, but the transition from road to curb ramp is a big enough dip that the rear overhang bottoms out, specifically on the sewer outlet.

I figured I'd try to smooth out that transition by building a ramp out of 3/4" pressure-treated plywood, using two 8' strips, one 18" wide and the other 6" wide, to lay down over the transition; the 8" strip glued underneath to form a triangular cross-section to reinforce the top strip.

Driving over that "ramp" should keep the rear wheel from dipping into the transition, which should elevate the rear end sufficiently to keep it from dragging.

Anyone tried this approach before? My guess is that with this narrow a cut, the 3/4" plywood may be able to hold the RV, especially reinforced by the other narrower cut underneath, but I'm by no means a structural engineer...

(Please avoid the temptation to let this thread stray into discussions of air bag suspension systems; I've already entertained that, and I'm not planning on going that route...)

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!