Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 07:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Jerry C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
I have an outside plug for a tv, I believe it is for cable, but when I hookup I can't get a signal to the tv. I have a switch box inside the coach, but no matter where I slide it, still no reception. I can hookup direct to the tv through a window and the tv gets the signal.
Any suggestions? This is on a 1993 Cobra Passport.

Thanks
Jerry
__________________

__________________
Jerry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-11-2006, 07:35 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Jerry C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
I have an outside plug for a tv, I believe it is for cable, but when I hookup I can't get a signal to the tv. I have a switch box inside the coach, but no matter where I slide it, still no reception. I can hookup direct to the tv through a window and the tv gets the signal.
Any suggestions? This is on a 1993 Cobra Passport.

Thanks
Jerry
__________________

__________________
Jerry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 08:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Almanor, CA USA
Posts: 419
Since you are able to get TV reception when you bypass the built-in cabling system in your rig, it proves the rig wiring is defective. There are 2 components to check. (1) the switch box that is a signal booster, and (2) the wiring between the outside of the rig and the booster. It will require 2 people to check the continuity of the cabling with an ohm meter or other type of continuity tester. You have an antenna on the roof, I presume. Does the TV work with that antenna? The signal booster is actually for that antenna, and should be switched off when you are using cable from the outside. If you get signal from the antenna through the booster, you can assume the booster is working correctly.

If you find the cable is bad from the outside of the trailer to where your TV is located, you'll have to find a way to run new cable. Replace the entire cable... do not try to splice coax cable unless you are experienced in doing so. Bad connections are often the result and require more time to troubleshoot than to replace the entire cable run.

Good luck,
__________________
Paul <?)))>< Lake Almanor, CA

2002 Thor Tahoe 23FBGL TT, 28'
Paul Heuvelhorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 06:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: arcadia, florida
Posts: 389
Go to Radio Shack (etc.) and get a terminator for the coax. It's a good idea to keep this on the end anyway to protect the connector from corrosion. It will have a reading of around 75 ohms on your multi-meter and you can check the cables at the back of the switch box for a reading around this resistance. Then remove the teminator and make sure the cable shows an open. If none of the cables show a resistance reading and do not open after removing the terminator then the cable is probably open. If you get one that shows a short (note that the antenna one may read fairly low resistance) check the inside of the fittings to make sure there is not a small strand of wire touching the center conductor. All that said and done if you never see a resistance then the cable is probably open and there is not much you can do except try to replace it.
__________________
Ed

Andrea
C Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 03:55 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
You will also need to go into a setup menu on the TV and change it from antenna to cable to get all of the cable channels.

ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 07:25 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Jerry C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Paul,C-Driver, Tx-iceman:

Thanks all fro your replies. Yes I do get a signal from the roof mount antenna. I'm not quite sure about the switching. I have a box with a slide switch, which has TV1, TV2 and AUX.I have another switch with a red light with the RG cable hookup, I am assuming its the powere booster, which I have shut off. Now how do I check the continuity of the cable from the outside to the inside of the coach? C-Driver is this what you talking about?

Thanks all for your answers.
__________________
Jerry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 04:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: arcadia, florida
Posts: 389
First a couple of assumptions. The TV1, TV2 is an output to select where you want the signal to go to. If you the Winegard wall type switch with a switch and red power light the antenna and outside cables are connected to a splitter on the back of this. It is designed to, when the power switch is 'on' to bring the signal in from the antenna and when off from the outside cable connection. You will need to pull this off the wall and disconnect the cable from the plate (don't mix them up) .... You can then check for a short or open to the outside cable
__________________

__________________
Ed

Andrea
C Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
US Gear hook up moldmkr Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 06-21-2008 03:19 PM
Internet - how do you hook up? Kessie Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 11-07-2007 05:31 AM
Air hook up Dennis Moore MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-19-2007 03:03 PM
Electrical hook up Donald MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 01-05-2006 05:48 PM
Waste hook-up Toby MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 07-23-2005 12:49 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.