Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2012, 11:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Mrfoto's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Danville VA
Posts: 236
Cable TV Problem

I have a 2008 Jayco Melbourne 29D that has 2 cable tv jacks at the electrical shore cord door. For the life of me, I cannot get cable reception when I am in campgroubd and hook up the wire. I turn my Westinghouse tv on and go to setup and change from "air" to cable, turn off power to roof antenna and then run scan. No results. Any suggestions? I can't check except when at campground, next time.
__________________

__________________
Paul & Carol plus 2 Bichons
2015 Winnebago Sightseer 35G, Blue Ox Tiger TracBar, 5 Star tune, Safe-t-plus steering
2008 HHR Toad & Working hard at retirement
Mrfoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-28-2012, 12:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bdpreece's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Woodburn Oregon USA
Posts: 2,594
Not familiar with your exact rig but, most RV's will have some type of distribution box with two or more inputs ie ant, dish, cable, etc. with one output to the TV. You need to then select which one you want to use.
__________________

__________________
Brian, Loretta & Daisy (Golden Retriever)
2008 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40 PDQ , ISL 400
2014 Ford Explorer toad
bdpreece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DebbieMH's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana & Alabama
Posts: 2,571
We had that problem last week. We we ran scan, nothing would come up. But we took a chance, and entered a channel that was on the cable list, and it worked. We just had to change the channels by putting in the channel number. Try that.
__________________
Lynn & Dan Hochradel, & fur kids Carl & Alvin
2015 Entegra Anthem 44B, Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
DebbieMH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
I have often wondered if you can take a old VCR and run a coax from it to the input on the MH. Toss in a tape and hit play. This would give you a signal as if it were hooked to cable or I might be wrong.
__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 04:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wanderso's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,044
Yes you can do the VCR test suggested above to confirm if you have an analog signal on channel 3. This will confirm if the wiring in the RV is working properly. Even new digital TVs still support analog signals so this is a valid test.
__________________
History: '08 View, '05 Chinook, '01 Jamboree 24D, '78 Apache Popup, 81 Komfort Tlr,
84 Mazda B2000 'w canopy,
Tent from wedding shower in '96
wanderso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Sparky1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 50
On many rv's there is a power button for the antenna that MUST be in the off position for you to receive the cable signal. Refer to your owners manual for location and more info.

I only know this because I went through similar frustration on our first trip.
__________________
Sparky1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 02:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Steverino's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky1956 View Post
On many rv's there is a power button for the antenna that MUST be in the off position for you to receive the cable signal. Refer to your owners manual for location and more info.

I only know this because I went through similar frustration on our first trip.
Funny - I just discovered this on our trip last weekend. First time we used cable... Why Jayco put the antenna power button BEHIND the TV, I cannot fathom. And of course the rig's manual doesn't even cover that stuff.
__________________
Steve & Carol

2000 Jayco 3230K Designer
Steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Two cable TV jacks.. The following is "Odds" And it really helps if you are the original owner.

One of those is for SAT TV.

You very likely have a wall plate in the motor home, it will have a button or switch, a light, a 12 volt outlet and one or two antenna connections.. Alternative, two wall plates one has ONLY an antenna connetion the other one has the switch, light, 12 volt outlet and an antenna connection.

The "odd" connection is the cable for SAT tv, if you tone it out or test it with meters you will find that this cable runs from one of the cables in the bay, direct to this jack, non-stop, single length, nothing in between (WE HOPE)

Or you have a box of many buttons and a loose cable (often on the other side) in a compartment marked SAT-IN" Again that is ONE of the cbales in back.

When you figure out which this is eithe rcap it or put a old connector on it or a termination resistor (Radio shack sells those) on it, Just to make sure you know what it's for.

The other one SHOULD run to either the wall plate with the switch or the box of many buttons.

HOWEVER.. if you are NOT the original owner.......

Was in a Fleetwood last winter, The poor gal could nto get cable TV to work (park had cable, free no less) we tried and tried and I will tell you I"m good at this stuff.

Finally pulled the wall plate to see if someone had messed with teh cables on the back of it.... WHAT CABLES, we could not even find the cables, they had been ripped (partially) out it seems. The only wires back there were the 12 volt DC lines.

No wonder it did not work.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:48 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
One jack is fro SAT and the other cable. You also need to be sure the TV is hooked up correctly inside.

Ken
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.