Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2013, 02:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Can I plug in to 50 amp

I have a 2008 Winnegabo Itasca Navion. Can I plug it in to a 50 amp outlet? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
dianebernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-07-2013, 02:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JohnBoyToo's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, Tex-US
Posts: 4,845
What kind of service does your RV expect ? Do you have 50 AMP ?

if so, yes... if not, you don't need it and I've not seen a campground that does NOT have lower amp sites if they have 50 amp....
__________________

__________________
'11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT RR10R pushed by a '14 Jeep Wrangler JKU. History.. 5'ers: 13 Redwood 38gk, 11 MVP Destiny, Open Range TT, popups, vans, tents...
JohnBoyToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:54 PM   #3
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,128
You can. If you have 30 amp service you will
need a 50 to 30 adapter such as this.

http://m.campingworld.com/browse/sku...=57723&rewrote

I've been to CG's where the 30 amp connection was bad and had to use the 50 amp ( when I had 30 amp ).

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Basic rule is: if the main plug on yr RV has 4 prongs [ two-120v hots, a neutral and a ground] you can "adapt" to any amperage via pigtails. IF the main plug is a "std" RV plug three prongs [one hot, one neutral and a ground] you only need and can only use 30 amps or less. Generally speaking, they dont make/use pigtails to go from 50 to 30 amps as you can only use one leg [one hot at 30 amps] anyway. Another tell is that rigs with one A/C heatpump is usually 30 amps while those with two or more A/C units/heatpumps are 50 amp.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 03:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBoyToo View Post
What kind of service does your RV expect ? Do you have 50 AMP ?

if so, yes... if not, you don't need it and I've not seen a campground that does NOT have lower amp sites if they have 50 amp....
Although some have some sites that are 50 amp only. Malibu Beach RV is one - have to use my 50/30 dogbone adapter there.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 394
And PLEASE turn the breakers off when plugging and unplugging. Much better for the plug and your camper!!!
__________________
mikell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
LindaH's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 1,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
Generally speaking, they dont make/use pigtails to go from 50 to 30 amps
Really?

We have a 50-amp rig. Some RV parks charge extra for 50-amps and, at those that do, we get a 30-amp site. We DO have an adapter that goes from 50-amps down to 30-amps, so I was surprised to learn that they aren't made!
__________________
2014 Winnebago Aspect 27K
2011 Kia Soul
LindaH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
Generally speaking, they don't make/use pigtails to go from 50 to 30 amps as you can only use one leg [one hot at 30 amps] anyway.
Even Wal*Mart carries those adapters.

Each leg of a 50 amp RV plugin will carry 50 amps, but your RV's breakers will limit you to 30 amps anyway.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:41 PM   #9
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,202
Just about every place that carries RV supplies has adapters.

I was in Sutherland's Hardware today, and they carry them (here in Texas)

Here's Camping World's page on Adapters
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
RVM14
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
RV's electrically come in 3 flavors 20, 30 and 50 amp, Just like the breakers in a 50 amp park power pedistal

Can you plug into a outlet that is DIFFERENT from your RV's plug type.

Yes, by use of the proper adapter

A 30 amp RV can be plugged into either a 20 or 50 amp outlet and a 50 can be plugged into either a 20 or 30 amp outlet, HOWEVER there will be limits on how much power you can use if you plug into an outlet SMALLER than the RV's plug.

And finally a caution.. Not all 30 amp outlets are for RV's. Some are for "Other stuff" and are the wrong voltage. Plugging a 30 amp rv (or an adapter) into a 240 volt Welder Dryer, Air compressor or range outlet will NOT make you a happy camper.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ramblin's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by LindaH View Post
Really?

We have a 50-amp rig. Some RV parks charge extra for 50-amps and, at those that do, we get a 30-amp site. We DO have an adapter that goes from 50-amps down to 30-amps, so I was surprised to learn that they aren't made!
+1 me too.

I once had to plug a 50=>30 dogbone into the panel, then plug a 30=>50 dogbone into that, THEN plug my coach into those. (30A plug was dead, and one leg of the 50A plug was dead too). I'm sorry to hear that my 30=>50 dogbone isn't available.
__________________
2002 National Dolphin LX 6356
Workhorse W-22 chassis
Don't believe everything you think.
Ramblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 11:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
tuffr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Posts: 2,458
The simple answer is yes. All you need are the adaptors from 50amp to 30amp.
__________________
tuffr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:25 AM   #13
RVM 18
 
okmunky's Avatar


 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fulltimer, SD resident
Posts: 7,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
And finally a caution.. Not all 30 amp outlets are for RV's. Some are for "Other stuff" and are the wrong voltage. Plugging a 30 amp rv (or an adapter) into a 240 volt Welder Dryer, Air compressor or range outlet will NOT make you a happy camper.
This was my first RV purchase. I consider it the cheapest insurance I can buy. Too many campgrounds have power problems and can cost you $1,000s in fried electronics and appliances. There is also a portable model, but it can be stolen.

Progressive Industries EMSLCHW30 Surge Protector : Amazon.com : Automotive
__________________
Barb (RVM18), Sena (capuchin monkey, RVM Head Mascot) & Lily (Maltese/Yorkie)
2011 Shasta Cynara 230F, 2012 Smart Car toad FMCA #F466348
The Journey is Our Destination. Full-timing since 5/18/2011 and loving it.
okmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:15 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
thanks everyone. got my answer. you are all super.
__________________

__________________
dianebernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.