Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2015, 01:12 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
on2thenext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 102
CB antenna question

Hello everyone before the weather started getting bad in the north east where I live. I asked the question where would be the best place to mount a CB antenna on my 30ft class C. Someone mentions that I should Mounted on my latter and run the cable under neath the unit and come through the firewall. now that the weather is starting to get nice I am thinking of tackling the task. my question is it hard or difficult to come through the firewall?
__________________

__________________
on2thenext is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-17-2015, 01:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Timon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 982
There is the best place and the most reasonable place. If the roof of your class "C" is metal the optimal place is on the roof along the center line and at least half the with from either end so you have the best ground plane. Just make sure it's not taller than 13' 6" so it doesn't slam into bridges.

If the roof is fiberglass then mirror mounts would be about the best way to go.

If you don't have the equipment to tune the antenna I'd suggest finding a good communication radio shop to do the install.
__________________

__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (Great Pyrenees).
Tustin, CA
Timon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 01:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,477
Somewhere I still have my meter for setting the antenna's. The Magna doesn't even have a CB and I see no need for one anymore unless you want to listen to the truckers language! I don't and neither does my wife who worked in the shipping industry!
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 01:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
on2thenext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 102
My roof is Fiberglas
__________________
on2thenext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 01:36 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
on2thenext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 102
Some people say that the cell phone replace the CB radio I disagree no one is going to call you on your cell phone to tell you there is a deer in the middle of the road
__________________
on2thenext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 04:35 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
on2thenext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by on2thenext View Post
Hello everyone before the weather started getting bad in the north east where I live. I asked the question where would be the best place to mount a CB antenna on my 30ft class C. Someone mentions that I should Mounted on my latter and run the cable under neath the unit and come through the firewall. now that the weather is starting to get nice I am thinking of tackling the task. my question is it hard or difficult to come through the firewall?

Spellcheck sorry on my ladder
__________________
on2thenext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 09:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
on2thenext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 102
Anyone have any experience running a cb antenna cable through the firewall I have a E450 class c
__________________
on2thenext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carthage,TN
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by on2thenext View Post
Anyone have any experience running a cb antenna cable through the firewall I have a E450 class c
I mounted my ant. on the ladder(make sure the ladder is grounded, had to run an extra wire to ladder and body). I ran my ant. cable through the main cable run from the cab. Make sure to use lengths of cable in 9ft. lengths ie. 9, 18, 24, 36 etc. I ran 36ft and had almost 1:1 SWR. I used a 36" Firestick antenna and the tip is about 10" above the AC cover.
__________________
2015 Jayco 26 C
Versa toad
2005 HD Road Glide Trike
Bigdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 12:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Funhaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Southwest Iowa.
Posts: 136
Most RV's are made of fiberglass, The best option for a CB antenna is to buy a NGP (no ground plane) antenna. These are made to mount on Fiberglass RV's and Semi trucks that have a fiberglass roof.

As others have stated you really need to get your antenna tuned to as close to a 1:1 ratio otherwise damage can occur to your CB unit, not to mention you can also broadcast further.

AS far going thru firewall, look for an existing hole to feed the cable through most times you can fit it through with an existing wire loom
__________________
2016 F.R. Vengeance 3062V
2013 Ram 3500 4x4 cclb drw
2005 Cross Country SE 376ds (Sold)
Funhaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 01:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
on2thenext's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 102
I am guessing I can use a NGP antenna on my ladder ?
__________________
on2thenext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 08:32 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,808
I drive a class A, fiberglsss, so I used a NO GROUND PLANE antenna which used to be inside but I finally got around to mounting it outside

On the side of the rig, the tip is about 13' above ground. measured.

My NGP ham antenna (VHF/UHF) is mirror mounted.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 08:26 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Funhaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Southwest Iowa.
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by on2thenext View Post
I am guessing I can use a NGP antenna on my ladder ?
Google search NGP CB antennas, Firestik makes some nice kits, you should be able to mount it to your ladder, just remember that most antenna wire for NGP applications should not be cut to shorten, you can add to it but I believe it is in 9' lengths.
__________________
2016 F.R. Vengeance 3062V
2013 Ram 3500 4x4 cclb drw
2005 Cross Country SE 376ds (Sold)
Funhaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 08:31 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
denlock's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 2,723
To run it through the firewall, just look for where another wire is going through it. Fish it in through that rubber boot to keep it sealed and away from a sharp edge. Or you can pick a spot and drill a hole, but you will need to make sure to get a rubber boot to put in the hole. We used to do that back in the late '70s when we were customizing vans.
__________________
Tricia & Dennis Lockhart
2010 Ventana 4333
Spartan MM w/Cummins 360 ISC
denlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 08:37 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
jones47172's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Posts: 485
I used a Firestick antenna with a side mount NGP antenna cable. Also purchased a standing wave meter (about $15) to tune the antenna. The Firestick has a threaded tip that can be adjusted anytime by simply lengthening/shortening the tip. The antenna was mounted on the copilot side windshield post and the wire was run down the post beneath the interior trim piece and under the dash.
__________________

__________________
Mike & Sue Jones
Venetian A40, formally Palazzo 35.1
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S
jones47172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital TV Antenna signal loss question vista14 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 11-25-2014 06:38 PM
Jack Antenna - 2 gwtriker Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 16 11-18-2014 07:12 PM
Antenna question mrebele Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 10-02-2014 06:06 PM
Crank up tv antenna question fastback Travel Trailer Discussion 16 03-04-2014 07:16 PM
Direct TV Receiver Question lhill Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 02-12-2014 10:20 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.