Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2013, 06:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
KMPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hollister, MO
Posts: 24
Coachmen Classic has no Monitor Panel

Virgin RVer here. Bought a 1985 Coachmen Classic today. Got it home and looked around more. I had done tons of research including reading the entire manual already. When I went to check the tanks I am finding no monitor panel anywhere. I looked at the two locations the manual suggests (dash and wall next to the door) plus in other places I've read that could be...nothing.

Two questions:

1. Is this a big deal. Could we just get by paying attention to how often we use utilities and get "regular" with dumping? (Sorry for the pun.)

2. If I need to get something, what are some good options to research.

Thanks for helping out this new guy.

KMP
__________________

__________________
KMPrince is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-15-2013, 03:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Nick-B's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vaughn, WA
Posts: 1,365
Kitchen wall or cupboard/cabinet area is another common spot. Should look something like this with a switch for the water pump -



Final possibility is that since it is an older, entry-level Class C that Coachman went cheap and simply didn't put in a panel and related sensors and wiring.
__________________

__________________
Nick
1995 Coachmen Santara 360MB 36' w/slide.
Ford F53/460 chassis, 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee "toad"
Nick-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
B D HOWie's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 224
One other place to check is in all your basement storage areas. I have seen older units with control switches and panels in these areas.
__________________
Big Dog House On Wheels
2013 Coachmen Freelander 28QB
on 2012 E4500 Chevrolet chassis
B D HOWie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 07:22 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
KMPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hollister, MO
Posts: 24
Ok. I'll check those places in the morning and check back in. Thanks for the quick response.
__________________
KMPrince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 07:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
mikebreeze's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 705
And congrats on the new-to-you purchase!
__________________
2006 Four Winds Majestic 23A
mikebreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 07:37 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
KMPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hollister, MO
Posts: 24
Thanks!
__________________
KMPrince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 09:34 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMPrince View Post
Virgin RVer here. Bought a 1985 Coachmen Classic today. Got it home and looked around more. I had done tons of research including reading the entire manual already. When I went to check the tanks I am finding no monitor panel anywhere. I looked at the two locations the manual suggests (dash and wall next to the door) plus in other places I've read that could be...nothing.

Two questions:

1. Is this a big deal. Could we just get by paying attention to how often we use utilities and get "regular" with dumping? (Sorry for the pun.)

2. If I need to get something, what are some good options to research.

Thanks for helping out this new guy.

KMP
Congrats on the new-to-you rig! And as for the monitor panel...many times they aren't reliable anyhow. You should be fine without them. You'll learn that the toilet will "burp" when the black tank is nearly full, and the shower will begin to fill up when the gray tank is full. Can you see the fresh water tank by looking underneath? That might be the way to "monitor" the fresh water level. Have fun.
__________________
.2012 Fleetwood Bounder 33C | 2012 Jeep Wrangler

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 07:15 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
KMPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hollister, MO
Posts: 24
The fresh water tank is semi transparent and under a dinette seat. Very east to check. I was hoping we'd be ok. Thanks for the advice.
__________________
KMPrince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 10:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Glenwood, Maryland
Posts: 163
Check on the range hood.
__________________
Tom
TomHinMd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 05:25 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
KMPrince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hollister, MO
Posts: 24
Ok so I am pretty confident there is no monitor panel and that we'll be ok without one. There's a new question thought: I found a switch located on the panel under the queen bed in the back. There is an E written in sharpie on it. When running on the truck battery the switch does nothing. Haven't tried it plugged in yet. This was obviously added aftermarket. Here are a couple of pictures. Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2732724173.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	335.3 KB
ID:	50229 Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3501955583.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	397.4 KB
ID:	50230

Any ideas what this is?
__________________

__________________
KMPrince is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.