Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Electric power concerns

Hello all, I use my coach at my summer property and have a 30 amp plug. Currently I done have any issues. I want to run a new 30 amp service about 100 feet away from the service panel. I realize in order to place a 30 amp plug I need to run a mimium of a #10 cable, but I think the voltage drop might cause harm to the coach. Anybody have any ideas. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Chuck and Cindy, Holland New York

2016 Jayco Precept
cbialeckisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-23-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
You should be ok with that size wire your not going to loose volts I have a building with a 100ft 10-2 underground wire on a 30amp breaker and it's running A/C, shop tools, TV,PC and lights and I read 120V all the time so your good
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:22 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Mark thanks for your response. I made a decision, since I need to bury a new line and I see a new coach in my future, I'm going to spend..... well a lot more then just running a #10 cable and install a 50amp plug along with the 30amp. I got a deal on # 6 wire I couldn't pass up. Thanks again.........
__________________
Chuck and Cindy, Holland New York

2016 Jayco Precept
cbialeckisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
milasman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 883
Up size your wire to compensate for voltage drop. Google search for a voltage drop calculater.
__________________
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
For 1,000 feet #10 won't haul the freight, Two different on-line calculators gave a minimum size of 250 mcm.

I am not sure what that is in gauge but I suspect it's in the "Zeros" range.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
milasman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 883
I think he was only needing a 100 ft run.
__________________
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:18 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,804
If you follow these directions you will stay out of troubled headaches later.
Welcome to the forums.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:20 PM   #8
Member
 
RaisingCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007";1254248]If you [B][URL="http://www.myrv.us/electric/
follow these directions[/URL][/B] you will stay out of troubled headaches later.
Welcome to the forums.
Very good information for us new to RVing. Thanks for sharing!
__________________
RaisingCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,808
I planned for the future by running the larger wire suitable for 50a, but used a 30a breaker and 30a RV recept - so easy to change the stuff later on the ends vs. the wire in the middle.

Old coach was a 30a, as is the recent new one - so far have not had to spend any more money or effort to upgrade, but a ready should the time come.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I planned for the future by running the larger wire suitable for 50a, but used a 30a breaker and 30a RV recept - so easy to change the stuff later on the ends vs. the wire in the middle.

Old coach was a 30a, as is the recent new one - so far have not had to spend any more money or effort to upgrade, but a ready should the time come.
Hope you ran four wires, not three as 50 amp RV service requires L1, L2, Neutral and Ground with separate 50 amp breakers on L1 and L2. Two 50 amp breakers at 120 volts each
120 V X 50 amps X 2 = 12,000 watts.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 03:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Hope you ran four wires, not three as 50 amp RV service requires L1, L2, Neutral and Ground with separate 50 amp breakers on L1 and L2. Two 50 amp breakers at 120 volts each
120 V X 50 amps X 2 = 12,000 watts.

You are correct. I did not go into such detail as the OP has the excellent link above to provide the wiring details, rather I just wanted to provide an alternate solution idea that might save a few dollars.
__________________

__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.