Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2013, 08:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Electrical system not working on 4/5 of the motor home

I recently installed a new exterior 30A rv plug att our house and it has been powering the RV great for 5 days and then this afternoon we went in and the A/C, fridge, interior lights, all but 2 outlets don't work. all of the breakers are working - I tested the conductivity of them, and all work properly. I have 120v going to all breaker switches but only one breaker is providing power and that is to the Microwave and TV. I hve tried switching the lines going in to the breaker and none of the stuff works. I have looked for a GFI outlet or breaker and can not find one anywhere. the exterior outlet for the fridge is showing 120V with no fault according to my GFI tester. I am looking for any suggestion on where to look next.

it is a 2005 Winnebago Minnie 31C.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
USCG CPO is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-02-2013, 09:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
I do not think the refer outlet is GFI???????? it is not on mine.

I would look harder for the "master" GFI outlet that is controlling the dead outlets.

My two kitchen outlets were controlled by the hidden bath GFI outlet>
__________________

__________________
2008 Sprinter chassis with
2010 Four Winds House class C
Pulling a 6x12 enclosed trailer
Showkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:45 AM   #3
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,555
Grab a kid or your wife and have them look for all outlets. Don't tell them why. Different height people see from different angels and often spot things I miss. I have a couple of GFI's and they are in stupid places.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208

It sounds like a GFI. Here's a link to Winnebago Wiring Diagrams: Wiring Diagrams
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 05:44 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
update -

I found one of the GFI outlets and reset it - so now I have power to the outlets - still no power to the fridge, AC or the status panel or the light and FAn above the range. I checked the exterior outlet for the fridge and I have good power there, just not to the fridge.

Any other suggestions?

Thank you for the link to the wiring diagram
__________________
USCG CPO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:23 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
gwtriker's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cleveland, Tn
Posts: 23
How's your 12v system?

How's your 12v system? My AC & fridge need / use 12v for their control circuitry ... with out 12v power, they do not work. My interior lights are all 12v.
__________________
gwtriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:41 AM   #7
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,555
Ditto on the 12 volts. If the charger was offline the batteries could be dead and the charger has not brought them up yet.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:28 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
We have the house batteries disconnected - they were disconnected when it was working.
__________________
USCG CPO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
Reconnect the batteries. 12 v controls the refrigerator (even on 120 v or propane) the thermostat is 12 v and turns the A/C or heater on and off. The range fan is 12 v, your water heater is 12 v controlled. Also, your on-board converter/charger is usually disconnected from the batteries when they are disconnected. That disconnect switch is only used for long term storage when not plugged in to shore power.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 09:54 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Hi all
__________________
acemonsoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 09:59 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
I recently bought my first motorhome 1995 Class C Jayco Design Series on a ford F350. When I have the unit plugged into the outdoor house outlet the interior lights fans etc.. seem to work fine once its unplugged the batteries should run this stuff I would think but are not? I checked the power to both batteries and all the breakers appear on..... is there a Master fuse that might need replacing? man I am stumped??? :(
__________________

__________________
acemonsoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.