Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-27-2014, 09:50 AM   #1
mre

Extended Travel or Fulltime in a Class C

I am looking at Class C motorhomes. I currently have a 33 ft 3 slide 5th wheel. Great storage and living space. I have 11+ years experience with two 5th wheel logging in over 90,000 towing miles and spend time in it in all kinds of weather even in remote places were the there is very little around expect for the outdoor stuff we wanted to do/see where we had to sit and wait out the weather. We have been time in all 49 states and 10 of the 11 providences of Canada.

We are not fulltimers but travel 3-6 months at one stretch. I have looked a all brands of Class C and B+ motorhomes and try I have myself doing what we have done in one of the larger Class C motorhome.

While I am in relatively good health and can still handle the 5th wheel and all that is associated with making and breaking camp, (and of course all the other BS that goes along with Rving), I do worry. My wife, because of vision issues, cannot drive our Dually even when not towing. She has had a half dozen plus medical events requiring me to take her to receive medical attention. Luckily, nothing for me yet. I worry that my day is coming.

We are looking at Class A, B, and B+, and C motorhomes. The Class C has the most appeal to me though I know the Class A will be closer to what I am used to. What drives this change is that we will be able to tow a dingy that she can drive in the event that something happens to me.

I have looked at all brands and models. Do any of you full time or travel more than four months at one stretch? Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.

thanks
ed