Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2013, 12:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Generator not powering coach

Our generator runs well , but somehow power is not getting to coach.

shore power works well.

any thoughts.


hsuggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2013, 12:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
palehorse89's Avatar

Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,690
First inline is the breakers on the gen-set itself and if they are ok voltage goes through the wiring to the transfer switch in your electrical bay......
So one of two things, breakers are tripped on gen-set, or problems at the transfer switch, you are going to have a meter to trouble shoot the transfer switch.

2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:48 PM   #3
Senior Member
hogdriver's Avatar

Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 2,551
Could be a couple things. My Onan 10kw has a circuit breaker right on the genny itself. A couple of times it tripped. The genny will run but no juice. Recycle it. If that is okay it could be the power transfer automatic switch in the electrical bay. I killed one in my old Monaco. You can try "thumping" it with a wood block or whatever. If it is fried it will take a repair guy to replace it. $200 + labor.
Dave & Debbie
2014 Anthem 44B
2012 Jeep Rubicon toad
hogdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
B D HOWie's Avatar

Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 154
When you disconnect from shore power do you have to manually plug your cord into a receptacle in the cables storage box or do you have an automatic transfer switch?
Big Dog House On Wheels
2013 Coachmen Freelander 28QB
on 2012 E4500 Chevrolet chassis
B D HOWie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
fletch460's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Groves,TX
Posts: 348
Dont know how long y0u have had the coach, but on my class C, I have to plug the power cordd into the housse recepticle in the cord bay.
fletch460 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,174
They have covered it. Some Motor homes you have to manually TRANSFER the plug to an outlet on the MH

Some have an automatic transfer switch (More in a bit)

And the breakers on the generator, Mine do not have a "TRIPPED" position, just on and off, Off doubles as tripped, So, since it is very hard to see the on/off indicators less the sun is just right they LOOK on when in fact they are not.

I have fixed that with a label maker Now OFF is clearly marked.

The transfer switch.. We keep reading the question "Will it hurt anything if I start the generator while plugged into shore power?"

The answer is,,,, Possibly.. If you have heavy loads, epically INDUCTIVE loads such as the air conditioner(s) running, you can cause an arc over in the transfer switch and this can weld the relay contacts so they can not transfer.

There are other ways the switch can fail as well.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 07:31 AM   #7
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8

Thanks so much for all the tips.

It WAS the circuit breaker!!

Working well now!

hsuggs is offline   Reply With Quote

power, generator

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.