Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-20-2020, 11:50 AM   #1

Hello from Chicago! Need advice re first used RV purchase

Hello all! I'm a newbie who wants to get a used Class C for long trips around the country during my semi-retirement (though I'll be working remotely while driving around). I'm on my own, have the money saved and am ready to pull the trigger as soon as I find one that fits the bill and the budget. What I don't understand is the logistics of buying one, especially if the one I want is states away, and I need an inspector for it. I have bought a house on my own and a couple new cars on my own, so I'm not afraid, just want to do things right. ;-)

There are plenty of used Class C's out there. But I'm in Chicago, and most of the used ones I find (Craigslist, rvtrader) are in CA, FL, and TX. If I find one I like, and the seller and I can agree on a price, I would want an independent RV inspector to review it. How do I do that thousands of miles away? And if the inspector says it's basically okay, I fly out, right? And drive it home? But shouldn't I stick around a week or two for a "shake out" or whatever they call it? How is this normally done?

Thanks so much. I'm so glad I've found this community!
AM
amc123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!