Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2013, 04:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Help! No power to outlet

While camping I plugged in a space heater into an outlet that runs the tv and dvd player that is above the driving area. It ran for a minute and quit and now it appears that the outlet no longer works. I have checked everything...breakers etc. The ground fault outlet works fine and every other outlet in the camper works. I am at a loss. Has anyone else evry experienced this and if so, how did you fix it? Please help. Any advice would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Stevehaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-19-2013, 04:38 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,135
Welcome to IRV2. Do you by chance have an inverter that has a resettable breaker ?
Cliff
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:45 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Yes
__________________
Stevehaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:47 PM   #4
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,135
Can you reset it ?
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:49 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
I did..dumb question though...would other things not work or would the theater system have its own breaker?
__________________
Stevehaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:49 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
My dumb question..not yours lol
__________________
Stevehaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Walnut Creek Ca USA
Posts: 641
Most RV outlets are Chinese made pieces of crap with no screw terminals. Take the outlet out and inspect it or just replace it with a UL approved house duplex outlet available at any hardware store. The cheap ones will short or crap out when pulling a lot of current through them. I have even seen them heat up so much the plastic around the outlet melted. Firstly though, check for a resettable breaker on the inverter.
-Paul R. Haller-
__________________
Paul R. Haller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:59 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks for your help.
__________________
Stevehaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 05:54 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
I have since checked and have power running through all breakers but none running to the outlet..somewhere in between I am missing something.
__________________
Stevehaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 07:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: schaghticoke, new york
Posts: 269
can you trace any other outlets on that circuit or locate a junction box between outlets that work and the one that does not work, there could be a loose or burnt connection at a downstream outlet or junction box that is causing the lost of power. you say the TV is on the same circuit did you overload the relay that cuts power to the TV when you turn the ignition on and burn it out
__________________

__________________
doublechevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.