Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2012, 02:34 AM   #99
Junior Member
 
mcnurlen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
When we plug in at CG, I click on the 30 amp switch, and proceed to plug in the main electric plug.
__________________

__________________
mcnurlen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-28-2012, 08:50 AM   #100
Senior Member
 
Horizonchase's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddawgs View Post
Hi Jim,
Actually my electrician got it, not really sure where. I think Flagg's RV parts and supplies might carry them (they are pretty well stocked). Three other place to check would be Ebay, Amazon, and Camping World. They are a common item for RV's so you should be able to find some. If not then let me know and I'll try to find some links for you. I'd love to go to Carl's but my problem is I have a tough schedule to work around. I work 12 hours a day and drive another 1 1/2 six days a week. On my one day off we usually run all our errands and if (IF) we have time try to go out to dinner with some friends. On the rare occasion when I can scrape together a few days off---WE go camping---. Our next trip out we might try out Aces High in Connecticut by the casinos. Maybe we could hook up there, I love showing off the Cambria. Shirley did a great job of picking all the colors inside and out. I've got enough tech on the dash it looks like the bridge of the enterprise. And I love looking at other RV's. I think I was actually in yours when it was on the lot back late March or early April
Todd
Thanks Todd. I will try finding the electrical tie in kit at Flaggs. I don't foresee it as a problem. I hope to get that accomplished before we take off next month to go to Me. but if we don't it's no big deal I can still hook up the way Sandi does by using a 30 amp extension cord.
I completely understand the 12 hr. busy schedule. From Oct. through the end of May I put myself on this overtime routine of 12 hr. days plus weekend coverage of 12 hrs. Routinely I would work 12 hr. days twelve days in a row! That meant getting up at 3:15 a.m. every morning and getting home at 5:30 p.m. every night. There was very little time for commitments because I would be in bed by 8:30 at night! I backed off on the OT for the summer and will resume again in the Fall. So I know how it is believe me. Perhaps one day we can meet at a CG. I'd love to be intimidated by your Starship Enterprise's Flight Deck dashboard!!
Be well and thanks for all that you have offered to me. I feel I am taking the right steps.
My best,
Jim
__________________

__________________
Horizonchase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 09:24 AM   #101
Senior Member
 
FW5000DRIVER's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnurlen1

On shore power at 30, the only time we have the generator going is when we have no shore power access.
You need to check the amperage of your AC, your toaster, your griddle and anything else that you may have on. Because it sounds like your exceeding what would be 30 amps. Don't forget that if you trip your breakers and your AC was on that you need to wait around 3 minutes for the compressor to reset before reapplying power or you may damage it.
__________________
2000 Four Winds 5000 Model 28A
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
FW5000DRIVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 04:56 PM   #102
Junior Member
 
mcnurlen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Thank you all for getting back at me. Oh boy, we sure weren't waiting 3 minutes.......I was melting...... Couldn't get the Ac back on fAst enough!!!! So do appreciate that important memo! Won't do that again. We also had the hot water tank on, not sure if that counts.
__________________
mcnurlen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 09:27 PM   #103
Senior Member
 
FW5000DRIVER's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnurlen1
Thank you all for getting back at me. Oh boy, we sure weren't waiting 3 minutes.......I was melting...... Couldn't get the Ac back on fAst enough!!!! So do appreciate that important memo! Won't do that again. We also had the hot water tank on, not sure if that counts.
The hot water heater counts. Just be mindful of what is on. Your A/C takes around 2000 watts to start(surge)...I'm pretty sure. Running little things add up quick. You can by amperage meter and test your appliances to determine just how much amps each item uses, then add that up and see where you stand.
__________________
2000 Four Winds 5000 Model 28A
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
FW5000DRIVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:31 PM   #104
Senior Member
 
FW5000DRIVER's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 259
13500 BTU A/C draws roughly 12-15 amps.
__________________

__________________
2000 Four Winds 5000 Model 28A
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
FW5000DRIVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.