Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2014, 06:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
How many amps needed for shore power

Can I just plug in a standard outlet from my garage for shore power or do I need a dedicated 30 amp plug in ?
__________________

__________________
Bukiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-07-2014, 07:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
halfwright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 588
You can use adapters so that your plug fits. Just don't expect to run the air conditioner or two heavy use item at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Jim and Darlene Wright
plus Ryder, the Ethiopian
monkeybeaver dog
halfwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 11:01 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,400
Bukiman
You can run your Rig that way you will need an adapter to convert your plug into the 15 amp circuit. Just keep in mind you do not have a lot of amps so running things like ACs will be a problem. If you have to use an extension cord make sure the wire guage is hefty.
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 11:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gocoffeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,137
Bukiman: I think it is a deeper question than just "how many amps"...it leads to...what are you expecting to do with your rig while it is parked? If you want a full service RV...you will need a full service set of amperage. If you want to run the frig and an occasional lite....you can do like I do...run an extension cord out there and plug into an outlet in the garage. If I need any real electrical power for AC units or electrical tools...I must start the genny and use that higher amp power.
__________________
Craig Gosselin
1994 Fleetwood 33H
1995 Fleetwood 30H (parts vehicle)
Gocoffeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 11:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
I have my coach ( 50 amp ) hooked to the 15 amp plug in the garage all the time when I'm home, using a 100" contractor grade extension.
BUT. Only the converter/charger is operating to charge the batteries , and the fridge 48 hours before trips. All other loads in the coach are shut down.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
hdossett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Central AZ
Posts: 539
15amp is OK for lighting and battery float, not much else. Cords and plugs will get hot if you do anything else, like AC. I would go with a 30 amp, as close to the TT as possible.

Just be sure it is wired at 120V, not 240V. It's not a welder plug!

H.
__________________
'01 National RV Tropi-Cal, Ford V10, '01 Suzuki GV 4X4 Blue Ox Tow Bar,300 Watts Solar, 2500 Watt '458' Inverter, NO TVs, Most light fixtures upgraded to LEDs

hdossett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BCooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,523
The receptacle is a NEMA TT-30R.
I have done the AC over a 15 amp circuit .. sigh... not pretty. (And I should know better... but it was not going to be long...)
__________________
2017 F350 Lariat Diesel Dually, White, Hitch Kit.
2013 Dutchman Voltage 3200 Epic II 5th wheel.
BCooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
A standard 15 amp circuit will usually power the converter to charge batteries, this runs lights and such. Once the batteries are full there may be enough power for one A/C or (not and) The Microwave OR the water heater.. You will likley need to keep fridge on Propane though.

With a 20 amp circuit you may be able to put the fridge on AC power.

W@ith 30.. You can run (usually) ONE A/C along with the Microwave OR water heater. Or both Micro and Water heater but NOT the AC.

I would recommend you have an electrician install a 50 amp outlet.. (Why 50 when you have a 30 amp rig) MANY MANY threads that start with "I had an electrician install 30 amps and he made a mistake".

Only one such thread with 50 amp outlet and that was a park technician, not a licesned electrician.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 01:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,927
I ran my mh on a 15 amp circuit and could run this and that but not all at once. If it's hot and you want to run the AC, you may not be able to run a vacuum cleaner or other power tool. I finally said heck with it, and had a 30 circuit installed now can run anything and everything that I can run at a campsite. It was money well spent.
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 02:09 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Each summer, we spend a month at my FIL's place in rural Minnesota. We park our 40DP next to his barn and exist on a 15 amp circuit. As pointed out, we can't run big draw items like the microwave or the AC, but we get by fine.

We switch our fridge and water heater on propane and limit the inverter/charger draw to 10 amps. Most afternoons we need to run the gennie for a few hours to cool off the coach.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 05:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
Amps

I have been using my standard 20 amp outlet and my AC works, but am I hurting the AC running it on low amps ?
__________________
Bukiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 05:12 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bukiman View Post
I have been using my standard 20 amp outlet and my AC works, but am I hurting the AC running it on low amps ?
I've melted the ends of a 12 awg ext. cord years ago and the AC wasn't even on. Problem is you get line loss, with that you get a higher Amp draw, the wiring heats up and you lose more Voltage, with lower Voltage you get an even higher Amp draw and more heat ----- bang
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Longhorn Dually, Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Hitch, 2017 Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 05:15 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
pagosajoe's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,548
One of the big issues will be the length of the 110VAC cord from the house to the RV. The longer the cord, the more voltage drop across the cord, which will cause it to heat up. The thicker the cord (10ga, for example, versus 14ga) the less of a problem it will be. The amps drawn by your AC will be the same, what will happen is that the voltage will drop (become lower), which could potentially cause problems. As others have pointed out, perhaps installing a dedicated circuit for the RV would resolve your concerns?

Hope that helps...
__________________
Joe and Debbie, Emma the Aussie Cattle Dog who adopted us
2012 Discovery 36J, Blue Ox and Air Force One, 2010 GMC Acadia Toad
USAF (Ret) WDM http://wd0m.com
pagosajoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 06:32 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
If using existing outlets
15 amps (two flat slots parallel, standard wall outlet) you may or may not be able to run the A/C. and the converter, though you may have to wait a few hours after you plug in to turn on the A/C.... I doubt if you could run A/C, Converter and fridge at one time.

20 amps (also a standard wall outlet but the neutral is "T" shaped) you can add in the fridge on most RV's.. ONE A/C or the Microwave or the Water heater but not two at one time.

30 amp RV socket, make sure it is a 120 volt outlet before you plug in.
TWO of the things on that "OR" list

50 amp RV outlet, IF YOU HAVE AN OUTLET INSTALLED BY A PRO PLEASE HAVE HIM PUT IN A FIFTY AMP. If the RV is properlay "Balanced" you should be able to run everything in it at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hybrid Solar / Shore Power Solution Wanted SteveUpp Going Green 20 09-23-2014 07:32 AM
No power to coach unless RV is running dvleemin Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-27-2014 08:33 PM
Issue with no power @ outlets :( ShineGinny Travel Trailer Discussion 23 01-19-2014 10:24 PM
Help! Power Control System freaking out! can only run 1 AC in Texas heat! mjeffrey Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 32 10-12-2013 08:33 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.