Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2010, 09:02 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
how to get the fridg to?

Hello,

I just bought my family our first RV a 1996 coachman 24ft class c. I am trying to get the fridg to run off the genarator, but i am only able to get it to run off the propane at this time. Any info would be great? I have chck the plug behind the unit and it works. Thanks for your time and help.

Andy
__________________

__________________
transcend is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-26-2010, 09:14 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
Welcome Andy to irv2.
You may have a transfer switch not operating or in your electric bay where your electric cable is located you may see a 30 amp receptacle that your shore line will plug into.
When you plug this in the feed from Gen will supply the 110 for fridge.
You have the 12v's needed for control board in fridge so your ok there.
Congrats with your new RV, ENJOY.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks, I checked the bay and did not see or feel a place to plug my shore line into. So it must be a switch, but where? Also can i drive while the propane is on? or will the wind blow it out?
__________________
transcend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:42 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
Most of us drive with LP function on.
Have you got your fridge set to AUTO and when you run your Gen have you test any of your 110 outlets, is your Micro operating with Gen running?
What is your fridge name and model #?
Test both outlets for fridge to make sure its plugged into correct one if you have ice maker 1/2 of outlet maybe wired through inverter if you have one..
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RobRV's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wet Coast of Canada
Posts: 557
It is better to run on LP anyway.
No It won't Blow Out! To Test the 110 Electric, plug the Fridge into a regular AC Outlet using an extension cord. If It works that way You will need to check other circuits to determine why the Power isn't getting to the Fridge!
__________________
Rob
RobRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Ok, I understand that the electrical outlet behind the fridge (in the outside compartment) is working, Did you use a volt meter or did you plug in a lamp.. Try plugging in a lamp, I'd like at least a 100 watt lamp. If the lamp works normally then you have eliminated everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, up to the plug on the fridge itself

Now plug the fridge back in.. Using the volt meter measure voltage at the circuit board.. This tests the plug and cord.

Finally locate the electric heat element.... Now measure the voltage at the heat element (you may need to either turn the temp way down or let the fridge warm up)

This tests everything up to the heat element.. IF you have good voltage at the heat element.. it's the problem

If there is no voltage at the heat element start checking fuses and connections on the assorted circuit boards.. if all good, you have a bad board.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Gary - K7GLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by transcend View Post
Hello,

I just bought my family our first RV a 1996 coachman 24ft class c. I am trying to get the fridg to run off the genarator, but i am only able to get it to run off the propane at this time. Any info would be great? I have chck the plug behind the unit and it works. Thanks for your time and help.

Andy
Please define your opinion it isn't working on electric...

Does the little indicator light on front of refrigerator indicate a problem? How long a period of time are you allowing for evidence of operation or cooling - takes a while on electric power.

IF the panel indicator is displaying normal function, and you have allowed a couple of hours for the electric element to start heating the refrigerant, but nothing happens (feel the coils at rear of refrigerator), THEN you need to do some of the above tests - but these RV refrigerators are NOT "instant-on" devices...
__________________
John Day....|'88 Winnebago Super Chief 27ft. Class A
Eastern .....|'88 KIT model 240 24 ft. 5er
Oregon ......|'02 Dodge/Cummins 2500 Quad Cab
Gary - K7GLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 03:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Retired and Happy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
Posts: 941
We also keep a small thermometer in both the fridge and freezer to be able to check operating temps. Ours measure from -20 to +70 or so. I've found the freezer starts to cool quicker than the fridge box.
__________________

__________________
Ken, Judy, and the Angels--2005 Fleetwood Southwind--2008 Cargo Trailer--2003 EZGO Golf Cart
Retired and Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Ice Maker Water Line Blue Ribbon RV Systems & Appliances 6 05-05-2010 04:52 PM
Water coming onto floor from refrigerator Knot-Flyn' Newmar Owner's Forum 9 02-08-2010 03:01 AM
Fridg. run time jneal Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 08-06-2009 06:45 AM
1977 Overland 30' Class A rebuild with pictures Sanjay R Vintage RV's 280 04-06-2009 09:23 PM
Breaker pops if A/C & electric water heater or fridg is on Lindenberg Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 09-11-2008 08:17 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.