Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 04-18-2011, 10:34 AM   #1
Humming Noise

Newbie here.
Just bought a 1997 Gulfstream Ultra.
For right now. I have it parked in the backyard.
I'm hooked up to a powercord for Elec. in the MH
The panel with the fuse's and switches makes a humming noise..
Wondering if this is normal.
Or If this is something,,,I don't need to be doing ?

drluam is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-18-2011, 12:11 PM   #2
It would be a lot worse if there was not a humming noise, I'd say normal unless it's loud. It's probably converting 120 volt to 12 to charge the coach battery.

Jim and Linda Jackson
Coachman Freedom
Jim Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 02:36 PM   #3
Converter Hum?

I second the opinion on the hum coming from the power converter. Have a '97 gulf stream conquest. When ever I'm plugged into shore power and the coach battery charges, it has a low hum which is really only noticeable when all is quiet in the coach.