Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2007, 04:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Crossville,TN USA
Posts: 437
We have in motion satalite on our class A. I realize that not all of the "domes" that you see are in motion type. But, out of curiosity, I don't believe I have ever seen a dome on a class C. Does anyone a class C use a dome? Do any class C's have in motion satalite? If no is the answer to these questions is there some practical/physical reason, i.e. structural integrity?

Just curious, Ken...
__________________

__________________
Ken Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2007, 04:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Crossville,TN USA
Posts: 437
We have in motion satalite on our class A. I realize that not all of the "domes" that you see are in motion type. But, out of curiosity, I don't believe I have ever seen a dome on a class C. Does anyone a class C use a dome? Do any class C's have in motion satalite? If no is the answer to these questions is there some practical/physical reason, i.e. structural integrity?

Just curious, Ken...
__________________

__________________
Ken Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
george henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. , South Beach, FL. Naples, Fl , Coral Gables,FL.
Posts: 1,112
I own a 2006 motorcoach class A with the new 2007 KVH Trac Vision R5 in-motion sat with dual line and have 2 direct tv boxes all hook up to 5 TV's in all. One in the coach up front high , 2 nd in the kitchen, 3 rd in the bedroom , 4 th in the bathroom and 5 th in the outside storge area compartment for outside entertainment , and yes I know quite a few guys that have in-motion sat on their class c . No different , .heck I have seen them in a racing venure ambulance at a large road course race car track a in- motion R5 also .
__________________
george henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Utah
Posts: 120
I have a Kingdome in-motion dome on my class C. There is no structural reason to prevent one on a class C. The only restriction is real estate space on the roof and obstructions from other stuff on the roof.

Ours works fine going down the road but does need AC vs 12 volt so we have to run the generator to have TV while in motion.
__________________
2008 Allegro Bus, 42ft QDP, 2007 Spartan chassis, RS3000 Xantrex inverter, 2001 Acura MDX Toad, Blue Ox baseplate, Blue Ox Aventa LX towbar, SMI Silent Partner, Toad Charge, Cobra WX75, Garmin GPS/XM
SteveR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 08:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
george henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. , South Beach, FL. Naples, Fl , Coral Gables,FL.
Posts: 1,112
I can't get by without a tv being on except when I am sleeping. In- motion is the only way to go .
here is the pic of 2007 KVH TRAC VISION R 5 in-motion with 2 DirectTV boxes running 5 tv plasma .


on 2006 THOR HURRICANE
__________________
george henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 09:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Darryl's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 223
I have a dome (KVH) on my Minnie Winnie. It's not the "in motion" model, but the dome is the same size on both. There is no reason that a dome cannot be installed on a class C if there is enough real eastate space. I also added an inverter, primarily so the TV/satellite system could work without a generator running.

Darryl
__________________
Darryl
Smyrna GA
Darryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 10:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Crossville,TN USA
Posts: 437
Thanks guys, it looks like I got my answere and usual the input of many is much appreciated, Ken...
__________________
Ken Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 03:43 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 1
We ordered a King-Dome Trac-King in-motion satellite dome system when we bought our '06 Itasca Cambria 26A (Class C) and we love it. Literally one button to push to turn it on. We bought it 'cause we want to be able to LISTEN to the Weather Channel, motor racing, etc, as we travel. Since the TV screen is out of our view from the front seats, we CAN travel with the TV on.
We turn on the sat system as we're pulling into a campsite to make sure we'll have reception once we're setup.
__________________
Dick (& Geri) Campagna
Dick Campagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 11:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
george henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. , South Beach, FL. Naples, Fl , Coral Gables,FL.
Posts: 1,112
Welcome Dick Campagna. We do the same thing also listen to XM radio with the TV's on .
__________________
george henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 05:26 AM   #10
Member
 
jojolou's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 82
I've thought of adding "dome" to our 31' Minnie. There is ample room and Winnebago pre wired it for us. The only "restriction" is getting my DW to ok it! LOL
__________________
Lou & Mary Jo + Scooter & Sophie
2008 Allegro Bay 35TSB W-25.5
2005 Jeep Liberty Toad
jojolou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 12:01 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
george henry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. , South Beach, FL. Naples, Fl , Coral Gables,FL.
Posts: 1,112
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by jojolou:
I've thought of adding "dome" to our 31' Minnie. There is ample room and Winnebago pre wired it for us. The only "restriction" is getting my DW to ok it! LOL </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

just mention to her that Direct tv has free sat radio XM it is great to hear while going throught those some towns that have bad radio station music.
And while pulling into your site you can backup or go forward to get a clear signal of the satellite. before you stop and setup.
__________________
george henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 08:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Utah
Posts: 120
If you have a King Controls Kingdome In Motion dish you bought prior to 2007, you may be able to upgrade the software and the tuner to have it switch between satellite locations automatically.

As soon as I get my coach back from the shop I will be doing the software upgrade to the dish and then adding the new tuner.

King Controls will send you the gadget required for the software update. Once this is done, you swap out the tuners..pack up all the stuff and they will then credit your account once they get their stuff back.

There is a waiting list and I expect to get my kit soon. Will let you know how it goes once I do the upgrades.
__________________

__________________
2008 Allegro Bus, 42ft QDP, 2007 Spartan chassis, RS3000 Xantrex inverter, 2001 Acura MDX Toad, Blue Ox baseplate, Blue Ox Aventa LX towbar, SMI Silent Partner, Toad Charge, Cobra WX75, Garmin GPS/XM
SteveR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
King Dome Satalite Dish Questions Old Rv'er Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 05-29-2008 06:04 AM
Dual LNB satalite dish rhkh Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 01-23-2008 03:57 AM
Satalite TV codgerbill Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 12-22-2007 08:15 AM
Satalite Radio somarmd Thor Industries Owner's Forum 17 11-29-2007 07:31 PM
Satalite bishgeo iRV2.com General Discussion 3 02-20-2005 12:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.