Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-25-2014, 05:14 PM   #1

Inverter

Newbie here preparing for an Alaska trip in Jun e. Really, really confused about the invertor. In simple terms, what does it do? Mine is positioned by the TV. Should it be 'On' all the time? Can it be 'On' when the generator is running? Can I cook a crockpot meal while traveling with the invertor 'On'? Thanks so much

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-25-2014, 05:26 PM   #2

Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
jimtheec,

Normally the inverter is off, unless you are camping off your batteries and wish to use 110v appliances. The second part of the question is a little harder to answer. Inverters come in all output ranges (from very small- less than 100 watts, to large- over 2,000 watts). It would help to state what kind of rv you have. Here's a battery drain calculator that would be handy to use no matter what size your inverter is:

Battery Usage & Drain Calculator

Old 04-25-2014, 05:35 PM   #3