Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-12-2014, 08:57 AM   #1

Need advice - 1st trip out this weekend in cold

I just got my 2015 Thor Freedom Elite last week. I am new to the Class C world and have a few questions for this weekend's trip. I will be camping (have 110 power only) where the highs will be in the mid/upper-30s and lows in low-20s. I also do NOT have enclosed tanks. So my questions:

While there is water available at the site, should I just fill my fresh water before I go?

With it getting this cold (yes, I am from the south so this is cold) and I don't have enclosed tanks, should I put antifreeze in the grey/black tanks so any water I do use won't freeze?

I saw on camping world that you can buy tank blankets which have a plug. Since I am planning on using it some in the winter, do these work and are worth the money? Or should I just use facility shower and bathroom?

While I will not be in the camper much during the day, should I run the furnace or the space heater to keep the chill out?

Should I keep the bathroom door open and cabinets open when I am not in the camper?

Should I find a place to dump close by before I head home (3 hr drive) or can I wait to dump when I get home?

Sorry for the newbie questions, I just don't want to break anything on my 1st trip.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!