Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2015, 07:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
gthunts's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 148
Need to run new TV coax

Just purchased a satellite system and, like others, my on board coax will not support the satellite. Can anyone help with ideas to run new coax? I have a 32 ft Class C with the entertainment center over the cab, no bunk there. The system works great with the coax provided with the new dish run through a window. I just don't want to do that forever.

gthunts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-04-2015, 07:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
gthunts's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 148
Forgot to mention in original post. My external cable hookup is in the rear most compartment on the driver's side.

gthunts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 11:41 AM   #3
hoakken's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 62
I just addressed the same type of problem in my Gulfstream. I ran a coax concealed in the corner behind existing trim down to floor level, under the door sill plate on passenger side, thru an existing rubber plug in body and along chassis into first compartment on passenger side and mounted connector there. I could not in any way make the unit work with existing coax, just not enough signal strength. Cable routing for yours will probably be different. This is one of those times to sit back with a cold adult beverage of your choice and think about routing. I'm positive you'll find a way, just takes a little thought.
hoakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 02:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
gthunts's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 148
Mine is also a Gulfstream
gthunts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
Brockx's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Punta Gorda FL.
Posts: 2,473
Since you are adding a dish (portable or mounted?) run a new coax, leave the old one in place. Class C come in underneath, thru the firewall perhaps, up the windshield column behind the trim, into your overhead. Buy a spliter / selector box and then you have both worlds still operational.
2008 Bounder 38P F53 24/30K V10, 2013 Kia Soul Basic 6 speed manual, Ready Brake Elite tow system (previous equipment 1996 Pace Arrow Vision w/Acme Dolly)
Brockx is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BOMB coax imput/output charles tuit Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 04-27-2015 10:45 AM
2014 Ventana 4037 Coax Question quadder Newmar Owner's Forum 6 02-10-2015 10:57 PM
Inverter to run Microwave? Wayco RV Systems & Appliances 16 08-04-2014 04:21 AM
Help, how to run coax wire from top of roof.... Wineman Entegra Owner's Forum 11 07-17-2014 01:02 PM
Trailer Coax Wiring trhendr Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 05-20-2014 02:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.