Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-26-2015, 04:55 PM   #1

Thor Owners Club
Need your advice. House batteries not charging on shore power or generator

Hello everyone, I'm new to this, and looking for some advice. I've been searching the forums for an answer, and haven't found one. My house batteries in my MH are definitely not charging on generator (or shore power) but they are charging on the alternator. We found this out the hard way on a camping trip this weekend. The generator and shore power are producing 110v on the ac side and are powering the 12v side (lights, furnace blower etc) properly. The batteries seem ok. I had charged them out of the coach separately on a regular plug in automotive charger when I was getting the coach out of winter storage. I also had them load tested at autozone (separately out of the coach) and they tested good. I also used each of them to start the motor in the MH while we were camping as part of my boondock troubleshooting since I didn't have a meter with me. Both batts have proper amount of water. I spent several hours trying to trace the wiring and voltages once we were back home. Here is my setup...

2013 Thor freedom Elite

WFCO 8955PEC converter

2 12v deep cycle batteries in parallel for the house

1 12v for the chassis battery

• House batteries read empty on the panel, but are reading 12.63V with my handheld multimeter