Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2016, 02:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helena, Alabama
Posts: 4
Newbie electrical question

How does one turn on the outside light on a Coachmen Freelander? There is an amber fixture above and to the left of the coach door. thanks
__________________

__________________
rjasutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-16-2016, 03:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Plantation, Fl
Posts: 1,068
Normally a switch is on a wall or the side of a cabinet just inside the doorway. I had an older Coachmen, where the switch was on the under side of an upper cabinet by the door. You could also have a bad bulb, if you find a switch which doesn't turn anything on.
__________________

__________________
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K
2016 Mazda CX5, on an Acme tow dolly, 4 trips 5800mi
Now 2017 RWD F 150 with a drive shaft disconnect
Mich F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 11:55 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helena, Alabama
Posts: 4
No switch in either spot
__________________
rjasutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 01:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Plantation, Fl
Posts: 1,068
Is there a switch on the light ?
__________________
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K
2016 Mazda CX5, on an Acme tow dolly, 4 trips 5800mi
Now 2017 RWD F 150 with a drive shaft disconnect
Mich F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 02:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Healeyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjasutton View Post
How does one turn on the outside light on a Coachmen Freelander?
What Freelander do you have?

I have had a 28QB and just got (2 weeks ago) a 29QB (with a slide).

On both units there was/is a switch just inside and to the left of the door on what would be the lower side of the refrigerator.

There are actually 2 switches: One for the interior lights and the other for the outside light.

On my 28QB, the switch for the outside light was the farthest from the door so I swapped them.

Tim

__________________
Healeyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:44 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helena, Alabama
Posts: 4
3100SO
__________________
rjasutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:45 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helena, Alabama
Posts: 4
no switch on the light
__________________
rjasutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 07:55 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lowell, Arkansas
Posts: 4,691
OK, There is an outside light fixture. IT HAS TO BE SWITCHED. IT CAN'T BE ON ALL THE TIME.

Why would they install a light fixture with an amber cover and no switch??? It has to be somewhere in the MH. It may not be in an obvious location (manufacturer has a problem with common sense) but it has to be somewhere.

Pull the cover check bulb and for electricity (12-V). Bad bulb?? No electricity?? Check for blown fuse. New bulb, fix electricity and light is on all the time??? I doubt it. Now you can find switch.

TeJay
__________________
TeJay Auto Instructor/4-yrs USAF/ Liz: RN/ WBGO 2014 Vista 30T/ F-53/CHF/5-Star/Koni * Bella & Izzy * Golden /Cocker mix/ Louie The Cat* All Retired
TeJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2016, 02:54 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
On the same switch as the entry door? Lamp burned out or circuit open?
__________________

__________________
Buzzglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, newbie



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultra-newbie electrical question Pgustaf249 RV Systems & Appliances 6 07-17-2014 06:38 AM
Newbie Checking in from OK- with lots of electrical questions! 2Champs New Member Check-In 18 06-12-2014 09:41 AM
Newbie Question About Power Inverters and Electrical exploring RV Systems & Appliances 11 01-05-2014 04:18 PM
Newbie to forum, newbie to rv'ing, and I have a newbie problem last_lemming Class B Motorhome Discussions 36 09-06-2012 07:14 PM
Newbie here with a few electrical questions Atropine Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 03-09-2012 08:24 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.