Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2013, 10:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 88
Plugging into house.

Dumb question.
Every time we plug into an outside plug, we blow the circuit in the house. We have a 30/15 connector (bought at Camping World), 30A RV surge protector, and a heavy duty extension cord. After being plugged in for a day and running the AC, the house circuit started blowing. Any ideas, suggestions, comments, etc would be wonderful!
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
ArmyVet717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-02-2013, 10:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ramblin's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyVet717 View Post
Dumb question.
Every time we plug into an outside plug, we blow the circuit in the house. We have a 30/15 connector (bought at Camping World), 30A RV surge protector, and a heavy duty extension cord. After being plugged in for a day and running the AC, the house circuit started blowing. Any ideas, suggestions, comments, etc would be wonderful!
Thanks.
A dedicated 15A circuit would be bare minimum. What else is on that circuit?
__________________

__________________
2002 National Dolphin LX 6356
Workhorse W-22 chassis
Don't believe everything you think.
Ramblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
The AC is too much for 15A. The AC is on a 20A breaker to begin with. Then you have the converter pulling a few amps as well.
You're overheating the 15A outlet.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 501
It takes a whole lot more current to run an A/C when the outside temperatures are very high.
__________________
Stan Birch
1999 Winnebago Adventurer 32T Ford V-10
Stan.Birch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,887
You can't run the air conditioning. 15 amp won't handle it.

I'm surprised you ran as long as you did.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch Hoagland View Post
You can't run the air conditioning. 15 amp won't handle it.

I'm surprised you ran as long as you did.
X2, and every foot of extension cord is a power loss, even if you match the size of the 30amp cord, the length of the cord drops power available, at the RV. Your in danger of burning out the A/C compressor too.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:15 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 35
I had the same problem and to solve it I bought a 30A RV extension cord and plug it into our 20a freezer circuit that is dedicated. We never did get a freezer so it was available. Now we can run our 15k BTU A/C anytime we want without any problems.
__________________
rcase13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 03:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 88
I figured that the problem was the 15A outlet, but wanted to make sure. Thanks for the reassurance that I was on the right track.
__________________
ArmyVet717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tony Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peru heading for Brasilia, Brazil
Posts: 2,117
We have run the 50 amp MH from 15 amp outlets via adaptor leads plenty of times in Mexico - and used one AC and care in what else we run - and never had problems but I imagine they probably all had 20 amp breakers in the switchboard.

Do the trip-outs coincide with evening meal preparation times when the supply voltage might be a bit lower, or times when those in the house might be using appliances fed from the same breaker as the outlet you are using, or night when all the RV lights are on and the converter/charger ramps up a notch.
__________________
Tony Lee - International Grey Nomad. Picasa Album - Travel Map
RVs. USA - Airstream Cutter; in Australia - MC8 40' DIY Coach conversion & OKA 4x4 MH; in Germany - Hobby Class C; in S America - F350 with 2500 10.6 Bigfoot camper
Tony Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
joeplazek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CAISTOR CENTRE
Posts: 535
Run your generator when AC is needed. The rest of the time the 15amp will be fine.

joe
__________________
joeplazek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:23 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dunnellon, FL
Posts: 21
Agree with joeplazek - do NOT run AC with extension cord to house - run generator.
__________________
Hollander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:28 AM   #12
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
If you ever decide to put in 30 amp service please read this link.
It may save the electronics in your coach from a disaster.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 02:42 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 57
I used to have the same issues, couldn't run the A/C while plugged into the house.

Several years back, we had our home essentially gutted and rebuilt. I had the electrician install a dedicated, 30 amp service, just for the motorhome. Since that time, I can run every appliance, along with the A/C and have no issues with tripped circuits.

I had the service positioned where I could plug in using the shore power cord, no extension needed.
__________________
unca waldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:17 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Davinger's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cocoa Beach Fl.
Posts: 257
Send a message via Yahoo to Davinger
You can run an AC on 15A for about 15 minutes at a time just to test the unit. If you check your coach you will discover that the AC isn't on a 15A fuse.
__________________

__________________
Davinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.