Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2016, 02:38 PM   #1
Member
 
robbeaudet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 52
Refrigerator

I have a 2008 coachman concord, and am new to rving, and the unit came with no manuals. My question, on the refrigerator there are 2 switches 1 on or off, and I auto or gas. I want to turn it on in auto mode the night before we leave while on shore power, so I am assuming it will run on electric? Does it switch to to gas once I get underway? There also is a switch on the control panel marked lp gas. Does this have anything to do with the refrigerator, or just the hot water heater? Thanks in advance for any, and all help
Bob
__________________

__________________
2008 Coachman Concorde. Our first RV. 17K miles. 2 slides. Recently retired.
robbeaudet is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-30-2016, 03:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Unplanned's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 2,396
Not sure about yours, but both I have had, turn on, set to "Auto". They worked on electric when plugged in to 15 amp outlet, then when I unplugged, it automatically switched to propane. Just be sure propane is on and I light a burner on the stove for a minute to be sure the air is out of the line. Takes a while if it's been turned off for a couple weeks or more.
__________________

__________________
2008 Winnebago Adventurer 38J, W24, GP, dozens of small thirsty ponies. Retired after 40 years wrenching on trucks! 2010 Ford Ranger toad with GSXR 1100T or KLR650 in the back. Easy to spot an RVer, they always walk around with a screwdriver or wrench in one hand!
Unplanned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 03:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12,717
I leave mine on auto. It uses electric if it's avalable and switchs to gas when I pull the plug.

To defrost it, I turn it OFF.

If you have a water heater that works with electric and gas, the GAS switch is probably for that.

I don't have an electric water heater so the switch says HOT WATER.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 06:25 PM   #4
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 4,140
Get the make and model number of the frig unit. You should be able to Google it and find the correct operations manuals for the unit.

I downloaded all the manuals for all my appliances, then printed them and had them bound ot the local Staples. I keep these manuals in the MH
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10 4R100) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 07:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Unplanned's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kamloops, BC, 60 miles from the Center of the Universe
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waiter21 View Post
Get the make and model number of the frig unit. You should be able to Google it and find the correct operations manuals for the unit.

I downloaded all the manuals for all my appliances, then printed them and had them bound ot the local Staples. I keep these manuals in the MH
Nice thing about Winnebago, all those manuals come with. As did our old Airstream MH. Lots of reading there! The Airstream even had full wiring schematics for 110 and 12 volts systems.
__________________
2008 Winnebago Adventurer 38J, W24, GP, dozens of small thirsty ponies. Retired after 40 years wrenching on trucks! 2010 Ford Ranger toad with GSXR 1100T or KLR650 in the back. Easy to spot an RVer, they always walk around with a screwdriver or wrench in one hand!
Unplanned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 09:05 PM   #6
Community Moderator
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 13,241
Leave he switch in the auto setting. I leave mine that way. When I have 110v it runs on elec. when no electrical hookup is goes to gas. The LP gas switch in your control panel most likely is for your hot water heater. I turn it on only when there will be large HW needs like when everyone wants to take a shower now! Or if boondocking, (which I only do rarely).
__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:05 AM   #7
Member
 
robbeaudet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 52
Thanks to all for the good advice. I will look for manuals when I return from this, our first weekend trip.
__________________
2008 Coachman Concorde. Our first RV. 17K miles. 2 slides. Recently retired.
robbeaudet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:09 AM   #8
Member
 
robbeaudet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 52
Thanks for that too. 😊
__________________
2008 Coachman Concorde. Our first RV. 17K miles. 2 slides. Recently retired.
robbeaudet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:12 AM   #9
Member
 
robbeaudet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 52
The last thank you was for Unplanned's tip on making sure that the gas was on. Haven't got this posting procedure down yet either.
__________________

__________________
2008 Coachman Concorde. Our first RV. 17K miles. 2 slides. Recently retired.
robbeaudet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refrigerator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigerator lock for Whirlpool refrigerator in 2014 Palazzo Oldtrh Thor Industries Owner's Forum 26 01-23-2016 11:39 AM
Can I replace my RV refrigerator with a standard refrigerator??? dlineberrys RV Systems & Appliances 30 12-01-2011 04:09 PM
Changing RV refrigerator to domestic refrigerator george p RV Systems & Appliances 4 10-03-2010 09:55 AM
Residential Refrigerator Compared to gas/Electrical Refrigerator seabee13 RV Systems & Appliances 5 05-13-2010 08:24 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.