RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2019, 06:34 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Replace AC dials with a Thermostat

We have a Coleman Mach AC, without heat, that only has control dials but not a thermostat. We want to replace the knobs which are essentially useless with a thermostat.

Our previous TT had a thermostat and would leave it set high to keep the humidity under control when parked and hooked up on our RV pad at home. We want to do the same now with our Freedom Elite Class C.

We have been unable to find a solution to this problem searching the forums and the Internet.

Any thoughts or suggestions are very much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ColemanMachControl.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	253196  
__________________

__________________
Pat and Eric - Tampa Bay Area Florida
2019 Thor Freedom Elite 22HE on Chevy Express 3500 2017 chassis
FLBirder is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-14-2019, 06:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 1,977
Those units do not come with the control board that is required to communicate with the thermostat so you probably need to replace it with a unit that is prewired for one. They do make temperature controlled outlets and switches. You would have to insert the switch into the wiring somewhere between the unit and the circuit breaker and it would need to have a remote temp sensor.

Example: https://www.amazon.com/bayite-Temper...-1-spons&psc=1
__________________

__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna/2015 Chevy Equinox
2014 Chaparral 327RLKS 5'er (FOR SALE)
2017 GMC 2500HD SLE 6.0L Z71 4x4 Standard Bed
https://wordpress.com/posts/enjoying-life.net
spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 07:55 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Can the control panel be replaced/upgraded?

Thanks, spdracr39, that's a bummer. Is it possible to replace the entire vent and control panel under the flange with a new one that has the control board and a built-in thermostat?
__________________
Pat and Eric - Tampa Bay Area Florida
2019 Thor Freedom Elite 22HE on Chevy Express 3500 2017 chassis
FLBirder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 08:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
1st-tt2018's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Virginia
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLBirder View Post
Thanks, spdracr39, that's a bummer. Is it possible to replace the entire vent and control panel under the flange with a new one that has the control board and a built-in thermostat?
There is a thread in th TT forum somewhere...ill see if I can find it. It required a new bottom end of the unit, control interface, control board, and thermostat with wiring for a wall mount.
__________________
2019 coleman lantern 202rd
1st-tt2018 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, replace, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Duo-Therm thermostat with Hunter thermostat tpcollins Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 10-02-2018 02:10 PM
Add AC wall thermostat to bypass my units' dials Stewfish RV Systems & Appliances 1 09-13-2018 01:43 PM
Remote thermostat for roof air residential thermostat swap?? supertramp Travel Trailer Discussion 6 01-12-2017 08:39 PM
Upgrade Duo-Therm thermostat to a Honeywell RTH230B Thermostat Ray Wallace RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-07-2009 08:22 PM
Propane thermostat vs. True-Air electronic thermostat John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 10-18-2005 02:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.