Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2015, 06:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Roof AC while driving

We just purchased a 1990 Fleetwood Jamboree Rallye on a Chevy Van Chassis. We would like to run the AC off of the generator, which it doesn't do. Does this motorhome have to be wired for that functionality or does this motorhome have that functionality meaning something needs repairing.
__________________

__________________
medevac121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-13-2015, 06:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,939
What generator do you want to run the roof AC off of? If it's the house generator why what is the problem? IF you are talking about the engine generator it does not make enough power.
__________________

__________________
nothermark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 06:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Welcome to iRV2.

Does the rest of the 120v electrical work of the gen set?
If you look around in the power cord bay , do you see a box labeled , auto transfer switch, or see a plug that the cable would plug into?
Some older coaches , didn't have a transfer switch and required the power cable be plugged into an outlet that was powered by the gen set.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 07:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
530ktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by nothermark View Post
What generator do you want to run the roof AC off of? If it's the house generator why what is the problem? IF you are talking about the engine generator it does not make enough power.
I feel confident that the poster is speaking of the house generator since the chassis version is an alternator and will not do anything to run an A/C piece of equipment.
__________________
2014 Itasca Sunova 33C towing a Jeep JK Wrangler
530ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 07:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by 530ktm View Post
I feel confident that the poster is speaking of the house generator since the chassis version is an alternator and will not do anything to run an A/C piece of equipment.
Actually the alternator can and do on some rigs when set up for it.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 07:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Murf2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Actually the alternator can and do on some rigs when set up for it.

With a DP it very well might, but I suspect the OP's 25 year old 22' class C would not be so equipped.


To the OP, there will be a socket in the same compartment as the shore power cord. If the cord is not plugged in to it the generator is not connected to the RV.

BTW, while driving down the highway, opening the furthest back roof vent, setting the dash A/C to vent and pointing them down the aisle will dramatically increase the efficiency of the chassis A/C. I can keep my 24' cool enough in pretty much any weather doing this.
__________________
Ted 'n' Laurie, plus Jackson (aka Deputy Dog, the Parson Russell Terrier 'fur kid') and, Rylie (who crossed the Rainbow Bridge June 14, 2012).
Murf2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 11:07 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by medevac121 View Post
We just purchased a 1990 Fleetwood Jamboree Rallye on a Chevy Van Chassis. We would like to run the AC off of the generator, which it doesn't do. Does this motorhome have to be wired for that functionality or does this motorhome have that functionality meaning something needs repairing.
make sure your shore power is plugged to the outlet in the power cord box... also make sure it didn't kick the breaker at the gen...
__________________
LVRVLUVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 11:09 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf2u View Post
With a DP it very well might, but I suspect the OP's 25 year old 22' class C would not be so equipped.


To the OP, there will be a socket in the same compartment as the shore power cord. If the cord is not plugged in to it the generator is not connected to the RV.

BTW, while driving down the highway, opening the furthest back roof vent, setting the dash A/C to vent and pointing them down the aisle will dramatically increase the efficiency of the chassis A/C. I can keep my 24' cool enough in pretty much any weather doing this.
I post the same answer.... sorry didn't read all the replys...
__________________
LVRVLUVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 07:25 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Roof AC

Thanks everyone for your response. I will go look this morning for an outlet or tripped breaker. It is a built in 4000 watt Onan by the way and the reason this is important to us is that we have two large dogs and it would be nice to be able to stop somewhere and go in with out worrying about them getting hot.

Since I brought this up is there some type of device that will monitor the inside temp and notify you some how if it gets to hot. Maybe a cell phone app.

Pat
__________________
medevac121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 08:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Murf2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by medevac121 View Post
Thanks everyone for your response. I will go look this morning for an outlet or tripped breaker. It is a built in 4000 watt Onan by the way and the reason this is important to us is that we have two large dogs and it would be nice to be able to stop somewhere and go in with out worrying about them getting hot.



Since I brought this up is there some type of device that will monitor the inside temp and notify you some how if it gets to hot. Maybe a cell phone app.



Pat

Yes, there are things that will alert you, however, if you are stopped somewhere other than a campground with WIFI you would need to have a cellular type hotspot of your own.
__________________
Ted 'n' Laurie, plus Jackson (aka Deputy Dog, the Parson Russell Terrier 'fur kid') and, Rylie (who crossed the Rainbow Bridge June 14, 2012).
Murf2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 11:18 PM   #11
Member
 
robertsonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 47
The 4k onans should have a 30 amp plug. Usually in the same box as your shore power cable. Plug the cable into it.
__________________

__________________
Ryan
Disclaimer: I am not a professional, just a Ham and Egger!
"Think Outside...No Box Required"
robertsonr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
roof



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fiberglass Roof Clean and Seal Spk64 Class A Motorhome Discussions 48 10-16-2015 10:18 PM
Boy... did I buy a lemon! ROOF questions Animalangel Travel Trailer Discussion 25 05-03-2015 08:35 AM
CW - $359.99 Yearly Rubber Roof Maint? Gasp Lincolnboy2 Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 04-24-2015 09:23 AM
Does my roof need replaced? epling Travel Trailer Discussion 6 04-23-2015 08:05 PM
Found the roof leak !!!!! Bad Dome installation ! Karlos National RV Owner's Forum 1 03-03-2014 07:14 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.