Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2014, 08:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Hardfiskur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Running wires from inverter to front tv area

I want to run a wire for a plug from the inverter in the battery bay under coach up to the front tv cabinet on my class C .That way people can watch movies when under way. Where would I run the wire up to the side cabinet by the Tv .Thank you for any information
__________________

__________________
Hardfiskur is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-04-2014, 11:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Any idea which plug the inverter is powering now?
Was the inverter standard equipment ?
Most small inverters ; factory installed ; only power the TV plug. Unless the TV can be seen from the drivers seat, they don't want the driver watching.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 06:25 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Murf2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,842
Might be less fuss to use a 12 volt flat screen TV. Any flat screen with an external transformer is a 12 volt unit, there's lots of them out there.
__________________
Ted 'n' Laurie, plus Jackson (aka Deputy Dog, the Parson Russell Terrier 'fur kid') and, Rylie (who crossed the Rainbow Bridge June 14, 2012).
Murf2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:46 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Hardfiskur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Inverter plug

I haven't installed the inverter yet. I was mainly wondering where to Hide the wires. coming up. I want to install a plug in the cabinet where all the TV stuff is like the 120 plugs and antenna connections are right next to the overhead tv
__________________
Hardfiskur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Most inverters would have to be mounted in a water/dust proof environment. With adequate ventilation away from fumes from the batteries. Any that you buy will come with instructions for wire gage and circuit protection requirements.
After you've got all that done you would need to pull an " A " pillar moulding off next to the windshield to see if there is room to run a power cord up. If there isn't a route for the wire apparent. Then your going to need help from some one with the exact same class C, that you have, and has done the same thing, to figure it out.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:09 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Hardfiskur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Invertr wire

Thank you Skip I will try that
__________________
Hardfiskur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,934
Most larger inverters have a by-pass mode where shore power or genset 120v power is passed thru the inverter to selected circuits when it is not inverting 12v bat power. Think the best idea is to use the existing 120v wire run to the front and make your connections to the inverter at the existing breaker box where the front 120v plug-ins originate. If your new inverter doesnt have a by-pass mode, you could install some sort of manual A/B switch to jump between normal shore power and inverted power; again at/or near the breaker box....This will save trying to snake wire up through a windshield pillar or something....
PS--the challenge here is to physically "fail-safe" it so you never have both inverter power and shore power on the same circuit at the same time!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Norcold refer off Inverter ?? Golfwannabee Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 07-28-2014 11:05 PM
Magnum Inverter Question. gemini5362 5th Wheel Discussion 28 05-19-2014 11:28 PM
Inverter Power Draw and Battery Capacity Butte64 Palazzo Motorhomes 7 05-06-2014 08:19 PM
Tripp Lite RV inverter fan running always when on shore power wanderso RV Systems & Appliances 1 03-15-2014 11:50 AM
Freedom 458 Inverter Issue zzjea RV Systems & Appliances 4 10-21-2013 11:25 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.