Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2012, 12:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
ldychef2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
This is just how unlearned I am.

I am at the "See Dick run. Run, Dick, run." Stage of my RV education. Please forgive the basic questions.

1. Under what circumstances do I plug the 30 amp plug into the recepticle inside the compartment on the outside of the MH? Is it plugged in while driving?

Where is my switchover toggle for the house batteries? Or do I have one? And where are the house batteries?

There is no switchover on the wall by the door, other than the two light switches and the leak detector, which does not work. (No green light, good breakers, good fuses, no propane flow with propane fully on).

What is this toggle switch for? (Upper left corner. It says on and off.

__________________

__________________
"Grandma Kris"
Visalia, CA
29' 1996 Jamboree Searcher
ldychef2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-02-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
topdownman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,462
All good questions.

If there is a 30 amp receptacle in one of your compartments, it may be that you need to plug the cord into that when you run the generator (if so equipped). Some RVs used to be setup like that.

The location of your house batteries could be almost anywhere. I think in a C Class they are often under the inside steps, or outside in one of the compartments.

As far as that switch, I'm going to guess it either turns on your onboard water pump or possible the water heater. I'm just guess that because it's in close proximity to the sink. If you flip it on, do you hear anything run (like a humming pump)? If not, it could be what turns on the lighter to your water heater. If you have the LP gas turned on, it should ignite. However make sure there's water in the tank before you turn on the water heater.
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - FMCA 351514 - Louisville, KY
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH - Freightliner / Cummins
2006 Jeep Commander
Cricket SW3 Personal Transporter
topdownman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,209
What make, model, year Class C do you have? I don't know the term 'switchover toggle' for the house battery. You might have a switch to disconnect them from the RV to stop discharging battery when in storage. You might also have a momentary switch, only on when you hold it down, that connects house batteries to the chassis battery to give a boost to start the engine when chassis (engine, headlights) battery is weak. That switch is usually within reach of the driver's seat. Do you have a level monitoring panel on wall or on hood above range? It might have a water pump switch or water heater switch on it.

Don't be afraid to ask questions, it's the only way we learn!

Also, if you list make, model, and serial # of all systems in your RV, you can Google the manufacturer and usually find a manual.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:05 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Hi Kris and welcome to the forum!

I'll leave the answer to your questions to those with more direct experience but wanted to welcome you.

You may want to go into your profile and add the year, make and model of your rig to your signature line. That will make it easier for folks to help out... since stuff changes from year to year and model to model.

Best of luck.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:25 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 19
Hi Kris - welcome to the forum.

It appears that all the questions have been answered. I'm sure you will have add'l questions, don't be afraid to ask.

Dave
__________________
darealmccoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
topdownman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,462
I was able to verify by looking through your manual that the 30 amp receptacle is indeed where you plug the power cord when you're running the generator. This motorhome has no automatic transfer switch.

I'm betting the switch turns on the water pump. I saw nothing in your manual that indicated you had a DSI (automatic starting) water heater. You probably have to manually light the pilot on the water heater.
__________________
Mark Anderson - FMCA 351514 - Louisville, KY
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH - Freightliner / Cummins
2006 Jeep Commander
Cricket SW3 Personal Transporter
topdownman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:42 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
ldychef2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks everyone !!! I did add my info to my sig line, I hope it's enough.

I have a water pump starter on the panel over the stove...where I check the status of the systems. The switch may be for the water heater....I am guessing.

It's wierd...everything I read, and the conversations I have had with the repair shop, have told me to look for a switch to go between engine battery and house batteries.

To add to the confusion...I have a small solar panel on the roof that is supposed to charge the house batteries. So far, it hasn't.

This is going to be educational...I can't wait until I understand it all and can spend a week out in nature with lots of books and overwhelming silence.
__________________
"Grandma Kris"
Visalia, CA
29' 1996 Jamboree Searcher
ldychef2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Some propane tanks have a valve that shuts off the flow of propane when the leak detector senses propane. You say no green light and it is not working. That may be why there is not propane flow.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:51 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldychef2k View Post
I have a water pump starter on the panel over the stove...where I check the status of the systems. The switch may be for the water heater....I am guessing.

It's wierd...everything I read, and the conversations I have had with the repair shop, have told me to look for a switch to go between engine battery and house batteries.

To add to the confusion...I have a small solar panel on the roof that is supposed to charge the house batteries. So far, it hasn't.
Yes that's the Hot Water switch. The switch they are referring to is a "Battery/Boost" switch. That switch should be on the dash someplace. It's a momentary switch that activates a solenoid which connects the house and chassis battery. It's used if the chassis battery is weak or dead to use the house battery for starting. It can also be used in reverse, say the house batt is dead and you need to start the generator.

This same solenoid has a 2nd function. Any time the engine is running this same solenoid is engaged to connect the batterys to charge the house battery while traveling.

If that is the original solar panel. it's most likely shot. These solar panels of that era were only 10-15 watts. Unless you lived in AZ, they would hardly maintain a battery, but better than nothing. For now, I would put that way down my list until I knew all the necessities were working properly and reliably.
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.