Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class C Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2015, 12:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Northeast Tennessee
Posts: 16
Watching my RPMs

1997 fleetwood tioga with triton v10 super duty and am thinking about putting in a tacometer to keep an eye on my rpms. No factory tac in unit. Live in the mountains and travel up and down many mountains when we're under way. Sometimes theres a good strain on the engine when climbing. Anybody have any ideas about mounting one?
__________________

__________________
farmerick4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2015, 12:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,815
I have a 1999 v10, with a OBD II, connector. I don't know if you do.

I put a Scangauge II, on top of the steering column.

If you have obd II, check it out.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:35 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
tach

Can you tell me if a ford v10 has a OBDII. It's a 99
__________________
hogntheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Santara's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: S florida now Cocoa
Posts: 275
yes it does (right under steer col) get the scan gauge it does so much more then just a tach best thing for the v 10
__________________
Rick & Barbara
"98" 30 'Coachmen C Santara FL (front lounge) V 10
TST tpms, ScanGauge 2 cats Tyler,Lucy
Santara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:41 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
scangauge ll

Excellent....the ones I have found run around $160. Is that fair price?
__________________
hogntheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Santara's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: S florida now Cocoa
Posts: 275
not bad ,keep looking amz google search
__________________
Rick & Barbara
"98" 30 'Coachmen C Santara FL (front lounge) V 10
TST tpms, ScanGauge 2 cats Tyler,Lucy
Santara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 02:25 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Nick-B's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vaughn, WA
Posts: 1,364
The V10 is an RPM monster and makes its max horsepower when it is spinning fast. You'll put more strain on the engine buy NOT letting it rev up when under a load. It is completely computer controlled and you cannot over-rev its designed capabilities.
Put your ear plugs in and drop the hammer good buddy!
__________________
Nick
1995 Coachmen Santara 360MB 36' w/slide.
Ford F53/460 chassis, 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee "toad"
Nick-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 03:23 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 23
Scantool products are another option to check out, especially if you already use a tablet or phone for navigation. You can customize a display, plus see all engine computer data. Here's a pic of my display.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/702b1kgrq1...85301.jpg?dl=0

http://www.scantool.net/review/produ...4/#review-form
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150620_185301.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	235.0 KB
ID:	98421  
__________________

__________________
Curt

2002 Class C Shasta Cheyenne 304
c_ref is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V-10 RPMs and when to Down Shift 89sandman Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 15 03-21-2015 12:51 PM
Going down steep grades -- Safe to have 3000 RPM's? Road-Chi Cummins Engines 40 02-25-2015 02:36 PM
Engine braking- How many RPMs? datrbone8 Caterpillar Engine Forum 14 08-25-2014 03:15 PM
Jesus is watching you pumper9x9 RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 3 06-04-2014 01:56 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.