Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Workkamping & Volunteering
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 11-24-2018, 08:30 AM   #1

Struggling to "Live the Dream"

If I had known that this is where my life would take me, I would have pursued a degree in software development or some form of IT in which I could work remotely. Sadly, I am an over-educated under-valued teacher. I want to pull my kids out of school and travel the country...homeschooling...working at the camps but I can't seem to take the leap. I love the idea of volunteering my time for a free site but with no child support or additional income, I cannot begin this journey without paid positions. I apply for paid positions but I am not hearing back as many are seasonal and unpredictable which is a whole other set of worries.

Is there a market for tutoring or teachers on the road? I know I could always substitute but at times, doing so is much like jumping through hoops while juggling. I am only 37 and need to continue to bring in an income but all these younger full-timers seem to have specialized talents. Is it a dream or feasible with the right plan in place?
Abrum81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!