Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > RV'ing On A Budget
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 12-18-2012, 08:50 PM   #1

Wink Overnight in a rest area??

I am new to RV'ing. I recently purchased a 2001 Itasca Suncruiser 35U. I am planning our first trip (Chicago - Tampa). I would like to break the trip down to tampa into two days with a stop over around Chattanooga. Pretty much just looking for a place to sleep in the RV overnight. I'm debating whether or not to try and find a campground or just park in a rest area for the one night. does anyone have knowledge about parking in the rest area's? If there is enough room, I'd like to bump out the 2 slide outs. Any thoughts/experiences would be appreciated.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-18-2012, 08:56 PM   #2

Fleetwood Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Looks like 2 600 mile days for starters. Rest areas are generally not places to get a nights sleep and not legal to do so in many areas. No idea about Tn. I would suggest getting a CG along the way. YMMV.